Preparation


Advertisement
Cyprus' flag
Middle East » Cyprus » Paphos » Peyia
August 26th 2012
Published: August 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Preparations

As this has happened so fast, most of my friends and family don't realise the stress which came with finding the right host family. So I originally joined an aupair website, (aupair-world.net) which you just create a profile about yourself, your likes, dislikes and what you expect and are looking for and then you are able to search for families, the idea is to look at the information they have and if you like them email them. It works both ways as families search for matching aupairs, you can decline families and they can decline you, but it has go be right for both of you so I didn't get offended I would rather that than be lead on. Once you have a response or if a family has emailed you, you are able to ask all the questions you like, for example how long you would be staying, how many days a week you work, the weekly salary, what their area is like, local transport and more information about them as a family such as hobbies.




So I was emailing so many people all over the world and had been close to agreeing with a few families when the Handebo's emailed me!



From there we skyped (which I had done with a few families as you get a better feel of them than just emailing. I also had a phone call from one family as they were on a boat) and agreed on each other on our first face to face conversation. From there we have emailed back and forth with different questions, expectations and any worries and it is all looking good. My mum was with me for our skype chat which I would recommend you have someone with you at some point in the choosing process as someone else's opinion is good. I found I was so excited I over looked a lot of things so key point get a parent or friend involved.

I applied for my VISA and being Australia I thought it would take ages, but within 3hours (on a sunday evening) I had it approved, it cost £180 and was really really easy. The website is really helpful and has a questionnaire to work out which is best for you.

As this post probably says I am in Cyprus at the moment with my friend and her family and as I am planning to book my flight for the 17th Sept which doesn't leave me long when I get back to sort myself out, pack, plan, say goodbye to everyone.




If you have any questions for me, even if you are a random that is thinking of doing similar email me and I'd be happy to give you any information I can.




I'll post soon 😊




R












Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb