The Trans Siberian - What I learned!!


Advertisement
Europe
July 27th 2017
Published: July 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

"You're blog was good but lacked one thing" , "oh" says I, almost choking on my chocolate biscuit, I after all had never written one before and considered myself to be the poor mans version of Michael Palin, "You didn't tell us what you learned" my friend informed me. Like a bad night at speed dating, the ending disappointed him. After some encouragement, I will sign the blog off properly.

Mother Russia
This part of the trip I didn't know what to expect. Reports on hooliganism, dodgy customs officials and the people not smiling had me asking what was I thinking!!. I need not have worried, anyone that did go to Russia really enjoyed it. Yes the people don't go around smiling but then how many people in our own towns and cities do we see walking around grinning like the Joker. On the trip several people said the majority of people in the world are decent and this includes Russian people. I am thinking of the gentleman that turned on Google maps on his phone to help us find our way back to hostel and yes you are correct , it was my fault we got lost (surprise surprise)!! Also at one of the train stops the Russian lady that offered to take photos of me with the scenic views in the background, and the Russian man with hardly any English that told me to look around at the beautiful scenery and of course our Russian comrades that shared their vodka and food with us. Our Russian train comrades have invited us back and since it's free of course I will, as well as that there is lots more exploring in St Petersburg and Moscow to be done. No doubt Russian cities have their social issues like all major cities and yes there are football hooligans in Russia but let's not forget they are not the only ones and not the first ones. So as the world cup approaches, and TV stations start their documentaries on Russian hooligans, the best thing we could do is see who's making the show and then perhaps change channel.

Spaciba
After spending 15 days mainly in 3 countries it's the only word I have which is Russian for thank you and even then I could only say it properly on my last day, funny as it seems, it is embarrassing. It's too easy to assume in major places people should speak English and when they don't we are shocked with such backwardness, but then again why should they. After all we are in their patch, so who can blame people then for not appearing friendly. Had I a better grasp of each language, who knows, maybe I would have been bringing a bride back 😉.

The Great Conqueror's
On our Mongolian tour, we sat chatting with the Brazilians on the tour with us, we got chatting about places we visited in the world. I looked over at our young tour guide and noted her boredom with the conversation, I asked her has she travelled much, she had been to parts of Asia but not far. Later my travelling companion and I spoke about feeling guilty of how lucky we are in Europe we can travel at relatively cheaply despite our salaries, yet for this young lady, travel could be a distant dream. Perhaps it makes sense that Genghis Khan is such a hero in Mongolia as maybe some of the people like our tour guide dreams of not conquering the world but simply just seeing it.
Ted!!
The last leg of our train journey, we thought we booked the cabin for ourselves but like that episode of Father Ted, where they arrive at Father Larry Duff's caravan to find Father Noel Furlong and the youth group staying there we soon found we were actually sharing with 2 chaps from Mongolia. It didn't take long to be happy with this as the two lads were good craic and the train journey went quickly. The decent people we met along the way, all with different backgrounds, different stories, and though the train travel time looks intimidating from afar, the time goes quickly. Entertainment is that from the old days of a few drinks, card games and storytelling, also you have no other choice but to take time out and relax. It's one of the few places left in the world with no WiFi and long may it continue.
Mission Accomplished
Despite our fears and the disappointment of many we didn't end up in a Gulag, didn't have to bribe Customs with Lidl vodka and could occasionally smile. We got so far in 15 days makes me wonder what Phileas Fogg was doing that it took him 80 days. If you get the chance to take the Trans Siberian train, then definitely do. It takes planning but is definitely worth it. Start in the West and go eastward, from Customs point it's easier. Though for the next few weeks I will be eating discount beans and nearly out of date bread, the experience of the Trans Siberian makes the sacrifice worth while. Now comes my blog finale. Thanks for reading and apologies to those that hoped it ended 😊.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb