Frankfurt, Germany


Advertisement
Europe
August 4th 2006
Published: August 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The FountainThe FountainThe Fountain

A shot of an old fountain with the sleek modern skyline in the background
Frankfurt is a very unique city.

Nowhere else in Europe will you find such a skyline of highrise buildings.

Nowhere else in Europe will you find a larger asian community.

And nowhere else in Europe will you find strip joints right next to some of the biggest and most prestigious banks and company headquarters in the world.

Despite this, it manages to elude being a seedy city, I actually quite enjoyed it. It was just so surreal. My hostel was right next door to one of the many sex shops in the city. And it was surrounded by cafes with people relaxing outside on the pavements with a great view of the 7 strip joints around them.

Anyway, moving along. The city has an awesome old centre, and they were having a festival along the river during the weekend I was there. So I spent most of my time strolling along the river and eating bratwurst, currywurst, and so on. It's all good but I'm starting to miss boerewors.

So after a few pub crawls over the Frankfurt weekend, I was ready to head off to Brussels for a little R&R and have a beer
The Town SquareThe Town SquareThe Town Square

The old town square with the town hall to the left
and some chocolates.

Later...



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The Frankfurt Twin TowersThe Frankfurt Twin Towers
The Frankfurt Twin Towers

The Deutsche Bank twin towers shot from the CBD area park.
View from the hostelView from the hostel
View from the hostel

A view down a main street just off the hostel I was staying at
City SkylineCity Skyline
City Skyline

A shot of the city skyline from across the 'Main River'
The hostelThe hostel
The hostel

The hostel, with my favourite Frankfurt hangout "World of Sex" right next door. It's a world of convenience, I tell you.


24th August 2006

Rhino's Adventure
You're way behind on your journal...I want stories and pictures of my favourite city!
24th August 2006

frankfurt
sounds like it's my kinda town!
24th August 2006

Exciting!
Hey Ryano, sounds exciting! Just keep us up to date and look after yourself. Love Bean x
24th August 2006

Ryno Bro
Awesome Man!!! How do the sex shops compare with the ones we have here? ;P stay out of jail. Jay
24th August 2006

Man on the run!
Sounds like your having a great time Ryan. Try pop pasy Jhb if you ever do go home and I'll show you some other great sights and sounds! LL
27th August 2006

cool man
Hey my little jewish friend, glad you're having a blast, cant wait for the return banquit :>
2nd September 2006

Jay and I are reading your Journal's now....come home now , you are having to much fun!!!!!!

Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb