THAILAND-ENGLAND-FRANCE-SPAIN 2012


Advertisement
Europe
August 6th 2012
Published: August 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

M & Mme Le ClercM & Mme Le ClercM & Mme Le Clerc

I should have gone as Michelle of "The Resistance".
HAVE FORK WILL TRAVEL...

Has it really been two years since our last trip to France? Kevin and I decided then that we needed to come back soon, so what better opportunity than to celebrate our 25th Anniversary in the Loire Valley? Since I don’t drink I will be concentrating on the food, as usual...and, like an Olympian, I have been in training...so much so that I needed to go on a diet so that I could eat without guilt.. I have succeeded in my efforts and can actually fit into clothes that I couldn’t wear ten years ago.

But, here have some of the other things I have been doing in preparation...

1. I have actually made Pate Campagne, from scratch, and it was very good (see the picture...) It was a Rick Stein recipe and deceptively easy. It was given to me by a friend, and I had watched her make it, which boosted my confidence incredibly.

2. I went to a very good French restaurant in Auckland a couple of weeks ago. I had to try the Pate Campagne, and Wendy, who is coming with us to the Loire with her husband, Ed, thought
My PateMy PateMy Pate

Looks almost real! Served with cornichons and beet chutney. YUMMMM....
it wasn’t as good as mine, though I thought it was excellent. I also had a lovely Chicken Provencal and Profiteroles for dessert. I don’t know WHY I can’t stop at two courses.

3. We also attended a Bastille Day pahtay which was great fun. I wore all my French clothes and Kevin went as M. LeClerc disquised as an onion seller, from ‘Allo, ‘Allo. A good time was had by all!

So, over the course of three months, we will be eating in Bangkok, England, France, and Spain. It will be a culinary delight, and I hope you get as much pleasure from reading the blog as I will from trying all the foods!

A Bientot!

(If you want to be on the blog list, make sure you hit the appropriate button to automatically get sent the link. And make sure you click on the photos button because not all of them get posted on the first page.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

PlayfriendsPlayfriends
Playfriends

Kevin and Ed at the French restaurant. It had an accordionist.
ProfiterolesProfiteroles
Profiteroles

The chocolate was TOO GOOD!!!!!


6th August 2012

So envious!!
Hi you two! I was wondering were you both were only yesterday and what you were up to. Looking forward to reading all about your travels & foodie experiences. Stay safe and have fun xx
18th August 2012

VONT LA FILLE!
I'm right there with you.....almost reached my diet goal so we can join you in pain au raisin and coffee - my soul cries out for breakfast!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb