Dropped into London


Advertisement
Europe
May 22nd 2011
Published: May 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

In a city with a population of close to 8 million people and 15 million visitors a year you'd be surprised to think there would be a quiet street to be found less than a stones throw from the Thames, however this is where you find me as I write my first blog entry of 2011.

Having spent the morning ensuring I would be able to blog (trips to mobile phone shops) , it was out for lunch to one of the many quality local pubs around Borough (where I am based for the next week) with my brother Paul.

The Goldsmith on Southwark Bridge Road is the quintessential local pub that does delicious Sunday roasts and by all accounts an interesting weekly menu that includes Thai Tuesday, a traditional Thai menu cooked by their resident Thai.

Having suffered from a poor breakfast experience at Del'Aziz in Bermondsey Square earlier in the morning, it was pleasing to see a simple menu with classic food combinations at the Goldsmith.

My appetite was sadly absent and so I ordered the grilled goats cheese salad, Paul ordered the Sunday roast beef and I'm pretty sure he wasn't disappointed! Beautifully cooked beef, carrots, peas and cauliflower adorned with a Yorkshire pudding.

What a contrast to Del'Aziz with poached eggs that resembled cakes of hotel soap, grilled tomatoes that never went near the grill and bacon that had been cooked and recooked!

London has turned on some gorgeous weather for my first two days and I hope that it will continue for the rest of the week.

Last night (Sunday) I headed into Leicester Square to catch up with PwC colleague Mun-Wai Low, who has been here for a week. We grabbed some chinese food and then coffee at one of my favourite cafes, Bar Italia in Soho.

Today (Monday) I will have a coffee at Monmouth at Borough Markgrab then grab some cheese from the very famous Neal's Yard Dairy, outside of that a relaxing day ahead


Advertisement



Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0855s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb