Thurdsday: Poltava Day 3


Advertisement
Europe
September 9th 2010
Published: September 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day Three in Poltava


Weather: Another warm, beautiful day. The people of Poltava are wearing jackets and sweaters again today. The wind is a bit chilly, so I'll wear a light jacket today, just in case.

Got out of bed around 6:00.
Went for a walk, then returned for breakfast about 8:30.
Called Svetlana around 10:30 to find out where she was. Her mobile phone is not on.

I continue to walk around town .. returned to the City Centre, and walked along a street with a lot of street vendors. Very cool.
I finally got an answer on Svetlana's mobile about 11:30. Her mom answered and explained that Svetlana was in bed, sick. She had a fever and was not feeling well. She would not be able to join me today, and wished me a Happy Day.

I tried to follow the maps we had, but managed to get completely lost!! LOL
It was quite an adventure .. I pretty much repeated our steps from the previous two days looking for the City Centre. Once I find that, I know where the hotel is from there!
I must have wandered for at least 6 hours until I found the City Centre, after finding every monument that we'd already seen .. and a few that we hadn't seen yet! I ended up back at the Rotund which is in the complete opposite side of the city than I started from.

After finding the City Centre, finally .. I worked my way back to the hotel to put my aching feet up.
Svetlana sent me a text to let me know that she would be at the hotel for 9:00 to see me off on the bus.

To bed around 22:00 tonight.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb