Don't know if I'd fancy ever doing this again


Advertisement
Europe
September 3rd 2010
Published: September 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm now in Vielha, or at least I was last night, after what is to date the most physically gruelling single day I have ever had. So much so that for no apparent reason I was in tears for about the last 3km. After having only received one response, being one of encouragement from Mr Hyatt, I went the route of the Tourmalet which I will probably keep paying for in the days to come. It was a perfect day weather-wise, apart from the unrelenting heat on the final 2 mountain passes, I was very glad to have done the Tourmalet before things got too hot.

Anyway, the photos will tell a much better story than I could possibly hope to relate, certainly in terms of the scenery. I'll not go into detail of the pain of the climbs or the fun on the descents, but I will say I saw my first live ferret, which when I asked owner if I could take a photo he proceeded to hold it up like a fish he'd just caught. I now have a photo of a very uncomfortable looking ferret, which is adequate recompense for the day's work...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



6th September 2010

A word of encouragement
Keep going Craig - I thought I had already sent you a message willing you on, but it seems you did not recieve it! Keep your updates coming - Oli is loving tracking you!
9th September 2010

Lunch in Arreau and the start ofthe persourde
Craig, Well done for making over it the persourde and into Spain after doing what was really stage 17 of the Tour de France this year with all the main climbs included. I enjoyed your company at lunch... i rode the Tourmalet the following day and it was really tough. Glenn

Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb