Waiting in Transit- Plane


Advertisement
Europe
November 8th 2003
Published: November 8th 2003
Edit Blog Post

We have been flying the friendly skies with Air Lauda, founded by ex motor racing guru Nikki Lauda, Nikki is Austrian, so is the service. My head is rotten; the squeaky man next to me won’t shut up. When he gets off the plane he is going to take all the blankets, pillows, and headphones he can find. I have buzzed for a flight attendant four times without response. I have to get away; I head down the cabin in search of help. ‘What are you doing out of your seat?’ She’s looking directly at me.
‘I’m sorry, I just have a bit of a head ache,’ I smile.
‘What do you want me to do about it?’ She snaps.
‘Well, could I have some panadol or something?’ I say in my most gracious voice.
‘I’m not a doctor you know. The plane will land soon, sit down.’
I help the man stuff headphones into his bag.

Mr. Belkin had organized a complementary night in the airport hotel, including a free breakfast before our early flight to Kuala Lumpur. Austrian sausages are my new favorite. Julian won’t eat them because he’s a hippy, so I eat his share and go back for seconds. Back on the plane, I feel sick as a dog and use the special bag in the pocket in front. Austrian Airlines has all the bells and whistles; a personal movie screen on the chair in front, the choice of over twenty films, video games that can be played against other people on the plane, a personal phone that costs ten euro a minute. I would trade it all for a comfortable seat, and a five-minute sleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 39; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb