Le Louvre


Advertisement
Europe
February 8th 2010
Published: February 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today ISA organized a trip to the Louvre. The good thing about this trip was we were given the audio/video guides, but the bad thing is we only stayed for an hour. However, I can return any time I want for free! I plan to return many times, and try to see everything; that's over 35,000 works of art!

The audio/video guide was cool because it provided a few tours where it would tell you where to walk and what you could see there, as well as giving interesting information about it. The directions were very clear, which is good because the Louvre is very big and mazelike, and it is easy to get lost. I picked the masterpiece tour which was only 45 minutes because we did not have much time. The audio/video guide also provided maps, and if you input the number of a work of art nearby, it could show you where you are. In addition to following a specific tour, one can get information about specific works of art by keying in the code near them.

The masterpiece tour took me down through the old moat, up to see the Venus de Milo, the Victory of Samothrace, and the Mona Lisa (La Jaconde), as well as mentioning a few other works along the way. The pictures are here.

Afterward, I had my first lunch at the CROUS with Gabi, Britt, Andrea, and Caroline. The food was quite good, and you get a very decent meal for only 2,90€! I had a petit pizza, some salad, yogurt, and some bread. I will definitely be returning there for lunch quite often. After lunch I came home to get some rest so I can get better hopefully before classes start. I am feeling a little better but not completely, but I would still like to go out for a bit tomorrow!

Bisous~

Advertisement



Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb