When in Kiev..


Advertisement
Europe
November 29th 2009
Published: November 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Waterfall featureWaterfall featureWaterfall feature

At the train station
So as I blogged earlier, I finally arrived in Kiev. The guy I met on the plane helped me exchange money, get a sim card and get on a bus to the train station. The bus ride was about an hour, so it let me get a glimpse of the country road etc, until I fell asleep. Once I got there, I manged to ring up Sveta (VPOGX), who arranged for my reception to meet me.

From now onwards, any name I write is my preception of it, so it will most likely be incorrect. I apologise to anyone offended..

So at the trainstation, I was met by the lovely Vika and Natasha, who were my reception from AIESEC in Kiev. I managed to get a train ticket for 11pm to Dnipro, so that I could get some sleep on it and be there the next morning. I could also spend some time in Kiev 😊.

We went to the mall first, which isn't as modern looking as the ones in NZ, but are massive. Inside the mall was a supermarket, which had food, clothes, homeware, and a cafe inside. And that was just one area. Aiesec in Kiev was putting on an event called Green Rush, which we then went to watch.

Since it was in Ukranian, I didn't really understand what was going on, but it was something to do with trying to push Ukraine to be more environmentally friendly. A representative from Bic was there, among others, and they were talking about CSR i think. Then the AIESECers put on some type of show for the increasing crowd, which was a lot of fun. Those were some of the most enthusiastic people I have ever seen, and despite the language barrier, I was definitely entertained.

First there were some girls who dressed up in different colour each, to represent things like deserts, forests etc. Then there was a group of AIESECers, who put on some kind of very energetic theatre show. I was told later that it was impromptu acting, based on audience suggestions, which I found hard to believe because they pulled it off so well. And lastly, there was a duo singing and dancing along to a bunch of Ukranian pop songs, with a lot of charisma and energy. All in all, it was extremely well done, and I hope that next sem, AIESEC auckland can do something similar.

After that, Art and Tanya took charge of my day, and took me around to see the sights. Kiev has some amazing buildings around, and if I have time I think I would like to go back and see more, and the art works. It got dark at around 4, which is sucky cause I was getting used to the late evenings in NZ. The weather wasn't as cold as I though it'd be, no snow yet, but apparently it will get a lot colder.

Later, we went to get some food at a place that's quite popular amoung students apparently. I got some beetroot thng, an apple dessert and some buckwheat. I should really learn the word for vegetarian; there aren't too many options. The food was quite good, and it only cost like 14 grivas, which is less than US$2. So I was quite pleased with that.

At night, another AIESECer, Tanya, got me to the train station, and explained how it all worked. There I could look forward to a nice long non-airplane seat sleep,after which I could finally arrive in Dnipro =].



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Some cartoon hedgehogSome cartoon hedgehog
Some cartoon hedgehog

Made from iron screws!
My first meal in UkraineMy first meal in Ukraine
My first meal in Ukraine

Beetroot salad, buckwheat, apple flapjack.
The sweetest coupleThe sweetest couple
The sweetest couple

Art and Tanya


1st December 2009

Wow, those photos look so like i wanna say beautiful but i think that's a bit gay.. but yea as far as the architecture and stuff Ukraine looks like awesome ae. Hope your rest of your trip goes well. And other people comment lol
1st December 2009

Glad you are having a great time
Hello Jeremy Glad you are having a great time. Sorry to hear about your camera. Please let me know what exactly is wrong cause it may cover the warranty. Take care of yourself. Mama
2nd December 2009

wowowowoow!! Love ur blog!! So happy that ur trip to Ukraine has been a smooth trip =) Looking forward to hearing more about ur internship! Awesome stuff Jeremy!

Tot: 0.312s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb