The Netherlands


Advertisement
Europe
September 16th 2009
Published: September 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

A CANAL SCENE IN AMSTERDAM
So yes...
I love to talk...Today it seemed I talked to all the waiters and waitresses working in restaurants and Cafes...or yesterday I had this One hour chat with this Lady, owner of a flowershop in Jordaan area of Amsterdam...She had lived in NYC for 22 years and was quite chatty as well...so she invited me for coffee in the weekend to meet her husband...I realized people are always very interested in others and are mostly very willing to talk about themselves, just like me...
I had an enjoyable two days in Amsterdam...Initially I was not too impressed by...It was crowded, dirty, and smelly, but when I came out of the Central area and headed more towards the canals, the city grew on me...I checked the Red Light District...Very interesting...At one point I was the Only woman in this small alley...the women in the showcase were checking me out...I took a long walk through the Jordaan district, Ann Frankhuis, and today I visited several of the museums, The Rembrandthuis ( Huis=House...I loved it), the Van Gogh museum, and the Rijksmuseum (Loved it too) and had dinner at this Indonasian Restaurant...Yes there is quite a large Indonasian population in Amsterdam, because of
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

THE BEUGENHOF IN AMSTERDAM (HOME FOR NUNS AND SINGLE WOMEN)
the Dutch East India Company...The food was great...
Ok done for the day...going back to my little Dutch hotel room...heading to the Hague tomorrow...
Ciao for now...
M



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

MOVING HOOKS ATTACHED TO THE TOP OF BUILDINGS
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

CLOSE UP
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

HOUSES ALONG THE CANAL
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

HOUSEBOAT
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

THE OLD CURCH AT THE RED LIGHT DISTRICT...CHURCH TO THE RIGHT, BROTHEL TO THE LEFT...
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

MENS PEEING STATION AT THE RED LIGHT DISTRICT...CHECK OUT THE LITTLE STATUE OF THE LITTLE BOY PEEING AT THE POSTS...


Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb