Chocolate Chip Cookies.


Advertisement
Europe
November 12th 2008
Published: January 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I got to bake cookies for my Germany Course yesterday evening. Our teacher told us to translate a traditional recipe out of each of our own countries into Germany and then bring it to class for the others to try. This excercise seems fairly dull until you consider thatour class consisted of natural born cities from Brazil, France, Spain, Greece, Italy, Thailand, China, and Korea. That truly was a prominant culture lesson. The Italian guy in our class discovered Nusspli (similar to Nutella, but made directly in Aachen) The French guy had brought it along to spread on the crepes that he had made. However, Paulo, the Italian, felt the need to put it on everything. Including the quark filled omlet things that one of the Spanish ladies brought and the chocolate chip cookies that I had made. Even the French guy had to join him on that last one though. I wasn't entirely satisfied with the way they turned out. Everything that has to do with baking is so entirely different here it's impossible to get all of te flavors and measurments right. I'm getting close though. Afterwards I went out with Eva and the others for a short while on Pond Straße again. I really enjoy their company. One of te girls, Susan, is in Ochester with me and Eva Rebecca and I think Anne are in Choir. Maybe Clara, too, but I'm not entirely sure. I've been spending quite a lot of time with these girls recently and it has proved to be infinately better for German and also for my attitude. I didn't enjoy school as much as I do now because I never felt like it was mine. Now that I have peaople whom bI see regularly outside of school I feel much less awkward. I may even be going one grade higher. My host mother had expressed concern much earlier on that I wasn't in school enough and she was entirely correct. I didn't want to start again at a different school and just randomly looking for classes to sit in on when I have free hours would have been far too confusing. So, the solution that the girls had come up with was for me to go into their grade, the 12th. From the 12th grade and up the students are preparing for a large and vey important test called the Abitur, therefore their
MapMapMap

The French guy drew a map...however, I've totally forgotten exactly what of.
schooling is a bit more intensive. I still won't be able to keep up with the lessons any better than before, but at least I will actually be in class and listening to German rather than sitting in Starbucks wasting money and consuming empty calories. In the end I believe that stepping my schooling up to a point of even less comprehension will make a considerable difference. It's going to motivate me even more to start participating and I need motivation more than anything right now. I think it's the only thing really keeping me from falling victim to homesic homesickness as a few of the other students have.

This weekend we have our first dance preformance for Karneval and I'm totally stoked! Our costumes are pink, sparkly and obnoxious, but still incredibly adorable even in all of their excesive flourescance. We will be dancing fairly close to every single weekend until the end of February. I'm sure it will become quite sickening by the end. It's fun, though, to be a part of an event that is so completely and totally German.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Cookies!Cookies!
Cookies!

Those are my chocolate chip pudding cookies in the tanish box on the table.
Rebecca, Eva, and I.Rebecca, Eva, and I.
Rebecca, Eva, and I.

We were in a club called Flowers.


Tot: 0.368s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb