Best New Year's Eve Party in Europe is......Edinburgh?


Advertisement
Europe
December 29th 2005
Published: September 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

29th December 2005
Edinburgh, Scotland.

Having survived Christmas, I left Godalming this afternoon in search of a top-notch New Year's bash, which according to popular opinion is up at dear ol' Edinburgh. Imagine my surprise! I'd been willing and eager to go absolutely anywhere in Europe for the most spectacular party available, only to find that everybody else was heading up to my old haunts. What a laugh!

Mindful of the train problems last time, I'd secured a bargain flight from Stansted to Prestwick Airport near Glasgow.... *Helpful hint for would-be travellers: airlines work on 24-hour clocks. Yep, you guessed it. My 6:20 flight, though chosen from a brief list and assumed to be after a day's worth of flights, had in fact been for that morning. Bugger.

After much running about and comparing and panicking, I handed over another £40 and settled in to wait for a 21:40 plane that was then delayed until almost 23:00. By which time I had completely missed Edinburgh's Torchlight Procession up to Carlton Hill and the ceremonial burning of the enormous Viking ship that they spend all year building in preperation of this night. The little pyro-girl in me howled in disappointment.

But to cut a long story short...er, I eventually arrived in Edinburgh by about 2am and in a black mood, determined to be unhappy and prepared to be unmoved by her until after I had slept off the last two month's worth of sleep deprivation.

But my sulk was short-lived, for she welcomed me with snow. A thick fall of tiny dancing snowflakes all about and upon me. I dropped my bags for a moment and, arms outstretched and face upturned, saluted her with a shout of joy. Oh, how I love this city.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.366s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb