European Backpacking Adventure


Advertisement
Europe
January 6th 2006
Published: January 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

switzerlandswitzerlandswitzerland

my sister and I taking in the beauty
For the past 10 years I have been a traveling fool😊 However, my ultimate dream trip, backpacking through Europe, was always on the horizon.. was always on my mind, yet it had never become a reality for some reason or another. I had begun to believe that it was something I needed to let go, and that my previous 10 day stint in Spain was all that I was going to have in terms of a European backpacking adventure. I tried as hard as I could to put it to the back of my mind, for I was just coming back from teaching in Honduras, and as a good hardworking American girl, needed to find a job, buy a house, and get married and have kids. Yes, become the ALL--AMERICAN soccer mom... that is a worthy aspiration for some, but for some reason right now in life, I just have an overwhelming desire to travel. It cannot be contained or supressed. I'm addicted. So, upon returning home from Honduras, I decided that in spite of my jobless state, I was going to use my savings to go abroad on my dream trip to Europe. WHY... well, I turn 30 in February,
venicevenicevenice

the maze of channels
and I needed to travel in Europe as a backpacker while I was still in my 20's😊 October 8, my sister and I set out on an experience of a lifetime.. a whirlwind tour of Europe! We began in lovely Ireland, and traveled to England, Germany, Czech Republic, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, Spain, and France. It was a brillant adventure, and the people we met across the world were absolutely hilarious, adventurous, and just the people you long to meet on your adventures. YELLOW HOSTEL in Rome and OASIS in Granada were definite favorites! Interlaken, Switzerland and the revolving restaurant are incredible dreamlike places where the mountains seem to be neverending and the lakes are the crystal blue one only imagines seeing at a tropical resort. I thought that after cruising through Europe, I would be finished with traveling, however, I have even greater aspirations and dreams of traveling through Eastern Europe, of Australia, of New Zealand, of Asia, and of Africa, of Suda America... it is a never-ending circle... and it all leads back to exploring the world.. of seeing the beauty of God's creation in nature and in the souls of the people I meet along the way... of
florenceflorenceflorence

Lyssa (mi hermanita), dos amigas y gemelas de Argentina, and myself in Antonio's hostel:)
experiencing something so beautiful it is beyond words. I'm ready for a new adventure, and perhaps, I'll see you all along the way😊

Cheers!

😊 Christina

ps.. my pictures from Europe and Central America are on my blog: http://christinamueller.typepad.com



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

spainspain
spain

alhambra
spainspain
spain

OASIS ping pong champs... Lyss and I brought a new style of ping pong to Granada:)
austriaaustria
austria

a couple in love
barcebarce
barce

Myself and mi amiga, Lidia, enjoying the infamous tapas.
EnglandEngland
England

Usually the guards are required to remain stoic, however, this guard actually smiled at my sister and I AND WINKED at us:) It was brillant!
GermanyGermany
Germany

I love you
GermanyGermany
Germany

memories
SwitzerlandSwitzerland
Switzerland

It's too bad I left the high heels behind in the US.. :)
GranadaGranada
Granada

the incredible gardens of the Alambra


Tot: 3.52s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0787s; 3; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb