Glasgow, Liverpool, Dublin, Paris


Advertisement
Europe
September 19th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My last day in Glasgow was a pretty hectic one. I had absolutely nothing planned at all. Me and aunt Margaret went to the train station hoping I could get on a train to Liverpool. That worked out alright but I still didn’t have a place to go when I got there. We ran over to the nearest internet café and I looked at every site but pretty much every hostel was all booked up, which was weird, cuz it’s the off season and its Liverpool. I finally found a room in a seedy little hostel and booked it. The journey to Liverpool was a long one. I went from Glasgow to Preston and had to switch trains, but I got on the wrong train. Thankfully the one I got on was going in the same general direction, so I just switched trains again and was finally in Liverpool. Once again, I got lost trying to find the hostel. I have no idea what my problem is. Directions just don’t seem to work for me. Not to mention, street signs in the UK are bullshit, if not non-existent. So eventually I asked a guy where it was and he walked with me right to it. That was pretty kick ass. The hostel itself wasn’t that bad. It was just the people I shared it with. It had the most intrusive shower ever. It was a dinky little cubicle that was jus big enough for the path of the water. So there’s poor me, trying to shampoo my hair, while its rinsing it all out at the same time. I didn’t even unpack anything there. I slept in my clothes and woke up early to go meet up with Khristal, another girl I met in Glasgow. We walked all down Mathew street, the infamous Beatles street, and took an ass load of pictures of statues and The Cavern club and all that juicy Beatles stuff. I didn’t get a lot of time in Liverpool. I kinda wish I did though. But I had to get on a train to Holyhead so I could catch the ferry to get to Dublin. I travelled from noon until 9:00pm that day. It was pretty creepy walking the streets of the ghetto side of Dublin when its dark out. This was another one of those lucky Heather moments, I didn’t really get lost, but I didn’t know where I was going and I found the hostel relatively easy. Shining Hostel was a pretty sweet one. It was right by O’Connell Street (Dublin’s main street) and it had everything by it. Khristal took a later train so she came into Dublin early the next morning and checked in. Our first day of Dublin was pretty sweet. We pretty much just walked around all day, just taking in the sights and snapping pictures. We went to a grocery store which was exciting as hell since both of us hadn’t eaten red meat in two weeks. I was dying for cow. So we got steaks and veggies and pasta and had the best effing dinner I’d ever tasted. I slept well that night. The next day was the day of the play that I’d been waiting months for. No Man’s Land, starring David Walliams and two guys from the Harry Potter movies. I have no idea why but I was nervous as hell all day. Maybe it was just knowing that David was in the same little city as me and in a few hours I was actually going to be just a few feet away from him. The time finally came to get ready and head out the door to the play. The play started at 8:00 and the girl said to be there 15 minutes before, so I left a bit before 7:00 just in case I got lost (which I seem to be good at doing). I got there in 5 minutes. I felt like a tool standing outside the theatre an hour before the show even started so I just leaned up against the fence and played with my phone for a bit. People were walking in and out of the theatre and I was keeping a eye out, just in case David came out for some reason. Then, I glanced up and walking straight toward me, down the street, dressed in a beautiful cream colored suit, was the man himself. David Walliams. I can’t even describe the feeling that took over my body. But, I acted cool as a frickin cucumber. I even gave him one of the “hey hows it goin!” smiles. And wouldn’t you know it, he gave me one right back. I GOT SMILED AT BY DAVID FUCKING WALLIAMS!!!!! I swear you couldn’t have beaten the smile off my face after that. It was an amazing performance, by all four actors, especially David of course. He even said two of my favorite words! The F word and the C word! It was pretty effing sweet!lol. I’m thinking that when I go back to London I’m going to go see it again since it’ll be playing there. Maybe if I see him again I’ll actually say something. So that was an amazing night. The next day me and Khristal went on a Cliffs of Moher bus tour. It took us all through Western Ireland. We were at the Burren, which is just miles and miles of limestone fields. And we stopped of at Galway Bay and the Blackhead cliffs, and then we stopped at the Cliffs of Moher which were pretty sweet. It was a good tour but I liked the Highlands one way better. This morning was the last of my time in Dublin. I woke up early to catch the lightrail train to go to Heuston Station to catch the Dublin Airport shuttle to fly to Paris. It’s been another extensive day of traveling. I’ve been up since 7:00 and I just found and checked into The Peace and Love Hostel at about 4:30. I landed in Beauvais France (about an hour outside of Paris) and had to take the shuttle into Paris. Thank God I was in London to learn the underground before I got here. Paris’ underground is the second largest in the world next to Moscow. I rode the underground like a pro. I changed at all the right stations and everything and finally ended up at the one by the hostel. The street signs here are way better and a lot more informative than the ones in the UK, even though they’re in French. I walked around for a while trying to find out which street I was on or relatively close to. I was concentrating so hard on my map that while I was walking and reading I stepped in a huge pile of dog poo.lol. I just laughed. It figures. Eventually I ended up back where I started from, at the underground station I got off at and lo and behold, the hostel is right across the street from the station. Suhweet! So, now I’m settling in, I need to have a shower and change my clothes. Then I guess I’ll see what Paris has to offer so far! I’m meeting up with my cousin Laura and her hubby Alastair tomorrow and were going to see the Catacombs and the Louvre together. I’m pumped.
I just had my first shower in 3 days and I feel absolutely amazing. I’m gonna go wander around the area a bit.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb