My first blog entry - the anticipation!


Advertisement
Europe
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so here goes, my first-ever blog entry...

I'm studying French and Spanish at Sheffield uni in the UK, and in 10 days' time, I will be heading to Perpignan for the first part of my year abroad (all part of the course, honest!) I'm going to be spending four months there altogether, studying at the university there, and exploring the Languedoc-Roussillon region, to which my heart already belongs. After my four months there, I will be moving on to Oviedo in the Asturias region of northern Spain for another four months, which I don't lnow much about I have to admit, but I'm looking forward to finding out!

I am basically a ball of nervous energy at the moment, feeling fear and excitement in equal measure! The fear is of the unknown - accommodation, starting a new university, and somehow navigating the bureaucracy which will of course accompany this in a foreign language. On the other hand, I'm very excited at the prospect of actually living in France rather than just holidaying there, of exploring the medieval castles, of being in a Catalan city in France, surrounded by mountains and beaches.

Although at the moment, I don't know what this year abroad is going to hold for me, I know I'm going to have so many new experiences and I want to make a record of them, and share them, and this seems like the perfect way to do that!

So here I go, off on a year of adventure!

Advertisement



20th September 2008

Good luck Katy!

Tot: 0.305s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 41; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb