Weekend Update


Advertisement
Europe
July 29th 2008
Published: July 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all-
This is to update you on my fun filled weekend. Hope yours was as nice as mine. On Friday we went on an excursion to a beautiful palace which had the most amazing gardens. It was called La Granja. It was built in the 1800’s I think?? Anyhow it wasn’t as old as all the rest, and it was much prettier. The chandeliers were amazing. The best part was the gardens out front where my friends Sara, and Whitney and I had some fun taking pictures. I’m not going to post a lot of them because I want you to see them when I get home, I feel like I’ve already shown my best pictures. All around the castle grounds are these fountains and statues, but the fountains are only on a couple times a year and that Friday happened to be one of them. So that was really cool that we got to see them. It was a really lovely day.
Saturday I went with a different friend, my roommate and another girl to a local convent. They have mass there every day at 12:30pm and seeing that I’ve never been to one I thought I would check it out. There were about 15 nuns there and everyone was really nice. I also like this church better because I could actually understand the priest. Saturday afternoon was spent at what they call a park but what is really just a field of grass. Its funny how you start to take things like lounge chairs for granted.
On Sunday- Everyone in the group (I found out there are 34 of us in this program) went to Madrid. First we went to the Reina Sofia which is the museum of modern art, we then had free time, and finally to the Prado the most famous art museum in all of Spain. The Reina Sofia is home to works of Dali and Picasso, I purchased a small picture of one of Dali’s more normal works. During free time Sara and Whitney and I went to Hard Rock, where I picked up some stuff for Adam and Ris. We also had burger king there! At the Prado we saw Las Meninas, a major painting by Velezquez and a lot more. I enjoyed it but there was a TON of people there, and it smelled. People in Europe just don’t shower enough. I hardly have any pics because you aren’t allowed to take any in the museums.
Besos,
Nicole


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb