Thank God For Jo


Advertisement
Europe
February 7th 2008
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, thank God for Jo, who replied to my email on how to add another blog to my prior blog. I am still learning how to navigate around this web site, so please be patient with me ...and gentle.

Since I finally got here, let me tell you about my plans for the future, based upon what I did this past August through November. I took a long trip to Ireland, Spain, France and Italy. I met many people and had many experiences, which I am going to write about in the coming months. I am also going to try to add some picture images, when these numb fingers figure out how to catch up with my numb skull (self deprecatory humor, here).

I have started three chapters of my travels story and sent them to email correpondents, of which several have responded back with very complimentary tidings. Eventually, I hope to join the Bennington College Masters in Fine Arts - Writing program and become a real writer...

Right now, I am looking out the window at Tom, Dick and Harry. They are my companions up here in the Green Mountain National Park north of Bennington Vermont. Tom and Dick are pines and Harry is a white birch tree. This is about the 10th snow storm over 6 inches that I have experienced, since I arrived here on December 8, 2007. Then, the weather turns warm, the rains come, the snow pack melts and it starts all over again.

The most unusual thing about the weather up here, as opposed to down "south" in New York City, is the air is dry and going outside in your underwear, where you can not hear a tree falling in the forest, is not all that unusual. Try that in New York City during the middle of rush hour and the guys in the white coats will be coming to take you away, along with the cops who have manacled your arms behind you.

Today, I am scheduled to have root canal, so I don't really feel like writing too much, but I will be back later to start the first edition of the NUHART NEWS stories about my travels. Since I learned a few words of the native languages, I will sign off with caio, adios, bon voyage and slainte'. That is about all I know to get me around Europe for over 3 months, and that's my story...and I am sticking to it.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



Advertisement



13th February 2008

Vermont... Do I Really Want To Be Here?
Since moving to this area last December, having first visited here when I was 15 years old many years ago, I have thought is this the place I want to live and die? Yes, but...I also want to travel to places I have never been to before. This May 2008, I am planning to take a cruise to Ocho Rios, Grand Cayman and Cozumel just to get away for awhile. I might drive on down to the Florida Keys, if I can find a travel mate who will share the driving. When I get back, I might just buy this place and stay here for good. A lot of work needs to be done, some of it is just maintenance, but outside the house needs to be stripped of chipping paint, primer and seal with a new color. Maybe, I will go from grey to white, which will reflect the sun's rays in the summer, with no central air conditioning here. It will match the house up the road, but then again maybe a nice red house would be better for the wolf who lives alone. That's right ladies, I live alone and I am straight. Always have been and always will be. Looking for a nice lady to help keep my feet warm. The last one psyched out on me. Thursday nights, I go off to the local Kentucky Blue Grass festival which is always free and plenty of coffee and cake and cheese and crackers to go around. Met George, the owner, and we talked about members of "The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band" showing up to play with the local boys. The name he gave to the local band is "The Better Than Nothing Band." I have chronicled my first 4 visits to hear their music and listen to the melodious tones of Sally who does all the Lorretta Lynn wailing in her Southern Baptist twang singing voice. Others join in with their own specialties of singing, so it is a great night out just for the fun of it. I have to start writing a book and getting other things done, so I might return from time to time to update my blog and let you know what exciting things will be coming our way in the future. Don't touch that dial!
14th February 2008

Vermont... Do I Really Want To Be Here?
Since moving to this area last December, having first visited here when I was 15 years old many years ago, I have thought is this the place I want to live and die? Yes, but...I also want to travel to places I have never been to before. This May 2008, I am planning to take a cruise to Ocho Rios, Grand Cayman and Cozumel just to get away for awhile. I might drive on down to the Florida Keys, if I can find a travel mate who will share the driving. When I get back, I might just buy this place and stay here for good. A lot of work needs to be done, some of it is just maintenance, but outside the house needs to be stripped of chipping paint, primer and seal with a new color. Maybe, I will go from grey to white, which will reflect the sun's rays in the summer, with no central air conditioning here. It will match the house up the road, but then again maybe a nice red house would be better for the wolf who lives alone. That's right ladies, I live alone and I am straight. Always have been and always will be. Looking for a nice lady to help keep my feet warm. The last one psyched out on me. Thursday nights, I go off to the local Kentucky Blue Grass festival which is always free and plenty of coffee and cake and cheese and crackers to go around. Met George, the owner, and we talked about members of "The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band" showing up to play with the local boys. The name he gave to the local band is "The Better Than Nothing Band." I have chronicled my first 4 visits to hear their music and listen to the melodious tones of Sally who does all the Lorretta Lynn wailing in her Southern Baptist twang singing voice. Others join in with their own specialties of singing, so it is a great night out just for the fun of it. I have to start writing a book and getting other things done, so I might return from time to time to update my blog and let you know what exciting things will be coming our way in the future. Don't touch that dial!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb