TominTenerife-second blog


Advertisement
Europe
November 27th 2007
Published: November 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

blog photos 1 007blog photos 1 007blog photos 1 007

Sunrise over Tagara
Hola gringos!
Well, another couple of weeks have passed since my first entry. The weather continues to be good, it's cooled off a bit since I first got here, daily maxima are now more round 30C than 35C. We had one dull day which culminated in a short shower and a little rain overnight a couple of days but that's been it. I've made some new acquaintances among the expat British community out here through the wireless Internet guy and went to see his bands play last weekend - the acoustic night on Friday and a rock band session on Sunday. They play at a resaurant a little way out of the resort where I'm staying, it's about a 10 minute taxi ride inland, i.e. uphill! The apartment block where I'm staying is still pretty sparsely occupied but what few folks are here seem to be mostly German as I was expecting. I've been treated to some fairly spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the last couple of weeks and even saw a shooting star this morning ( no photo unfortunately ). I went to the local pub to watch the England vs. Kazakhstan match last week - there was a good
blog photos 1 022blog photos 1 022blog photos 1 022

Sunrise over Tagara 2
turn - out but not many happy punters by the end of the night. Still, the Estrella was nice and cold. I've managed to get myself roped in for carol singing round the bars in Los Gigantes on Christmas eve - should be a bit of a laugh and a good excuse to glug a few beers. I've been having great fun & games this morning setting up a photo gallery to go with this blog and I've managed to upload some pictures at an excruciatingly slow rate due I think to a combination of limits imposed by the website and my wireless connection to the Internet. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to find them because I'm not even sure where they are but I'm sure they're here somewhere! I'm off ten pin bowling in Las Americas tomorrow night, should be fun. Propery prices here are on the slide due in no small part to the diminishing availability of cheap flights which I suspect is only going to get worse as a result of the paranoia about global warming. There was a letter in one of the free papers written by some guy who said he was considering selling for that reason. I don't suppose the appreciation of the Euro versus Sterling helps much either and don't even mention the Dollar, although I haven't met any Americans here yet. Anyway, time for lunch I think and I'll do another blog when I've anything worthwhile to report. All in all, it beats the hell out of being in England in winter.
Hasta la vista,
TominTenerife.
O.K. to see the photo gallery, click on " TominTenerife " at left near top of blog entry, go to " gallery " and click on the photo and the others should come up as wel.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb