London Calling


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
October 21st 2010
Published: October 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Last few days in Scotland were very cold, but great in the fact that I got to just hang out with Jean most the time and be lazy! Friday night Jean and I went to Ricky and Danny's flat to hang out and have a drink... A drink turned into just less than half a bottle of tequila for me and half a bottle of vodka for Jean. - It’s amazing how much more I can drink being closer to sea level! haha - Anyways Jean and I competed on the Wii for a bit. I won Bowling and Golf, He won Tennis, Boxing, and Baseball. Then we played some video game that was like karaoke, fun for drunk people! Ricky was great, and Danny did good as well, he said that he only did well with that song and none of the others. He never did sing another one so I couldn’t say if that was true or not! I was not so good I picked a fast Black Eyed Peas song - cause I thought I knew the words HA - I was wrong! Jean kinda had to be coaxed into it but he did it and he was better than me for sure! We also played a shooting game. All 4 of us could play at once and I was terrible at it! I eventually gave up. That is the most video games I’ve played in 1 sitting in as long as I can remember but it was a lot of fun! Jean and I walked back to his place, I’m sure that it would have been cold but we both had a good amount of booze running through our veins to keep us warm! Once we got back to the flat we decided we were hungry so we left again and headed back into town. There is only 1 place open that serves food that late and the line showed it! We probably waited around 20 min if not more. They have bakery type things behind a long glass counter or you can order other things off of their extensive menu, we went for the good old toasted ham and cheese sandwich and an order of chips(fries) - It was great! We ate on the walk back up - which is literally uphill the whole way back! Thanks to the food, walk, and cold weather we were sobered up enough by the time we got back to pass out! We were probably up till about 5am and slept till 2pm sat. Neither of us were feeling hung over but I felt a chest cold starting. We just hung out and watched movies for what was left of the day since I was not feeling so great. Sunday was Freezing! Jean does volunteer rugby coaching every Sunday (although it was cancelled the previous week). I decided to go and watch, he teaches the 14 year olds but I ended up watching his little brothers play instead (5-9) they were so cute! After that we went to the store and stalked up on food and then went back to the flat to feast and warm up! Monday I was still not feeling well and ended up sleeping till about 2 again. Jean and I went over to his Dad's place for dinner and I said my goodbyes. Tuesday I packed during the day and then that night we met up with a few people and had a goodbye drink but didn't stay late since I knew I’d have to be up early. Today I was up at 8am, finished packing and then had breakfast with Jean and Lea. First day of sunshine since I have arrived and of course I’m leaving but it is still freezing out! We headed to Edinburgh and picked up Ricky and 2 other girls, that we had hung out with the night before, on the way(so they could spend the day walking around town). I got checked in and Jean and I parted ways 😞 He has been a great host and I will miss him! I got through security fairly smoothly. The metal detector beeped when I walked thorough and so I was thoroughly patted down by a lady, I think she should have bought me dinner first but maybe I’m just old fashioned that way :D At the airport I wondered around a bit since I had an hour till boarding and found a cool patch that I will sew onto my backpack! The flight seemed shorter than when I flew up to Scotland, but maybe its cause I had not spent the whole day traveling already 😊 1 hour driving, 1 hour flight and I arrive in LONDON!!! We had to take 2 buses and then had a short walk to get to Alex's Grandma's house. Very picturesque! I got one shot but the sun was setting so it’s not so good I’ll take more in the day light later! It’s everything you would expect of a small English cottage type house. Small rooms, china in the cabinets, and her grandma was making soup which smelled and tasted divine! Alex and I have spent the rest of the night catching up and thinking of things we will do while I’m here and later on in our adventure. I’m still not feeling 100% and so now I think it is about time for some sleep!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



21st October 2010

too much fun
I love reading your blog. Thank you so much for doing it. I look for new editions each day. These are days you will remember for a lifetime. The house in London looks exactly as I would picture a .... uh.....house in London! Via con dios and write again soon. Tom
21st October 2010

Hi Vanessa! I know we haven't talked in a long time but I just wanted to say that I hope you are having an AMAZING trip. I love reading about all your adventures and it looks/sounds like you are having a blast. Live it up!
25th October 2010

It all sounds so wonderful! Wasn't Totts in London for awhile a few years back? Have fun! Be safe!
26th October 2010

SUNNY ARIZONA
Hello Vanessa, It is so great to hear of your travels. You are so brave. Sorry to hear you don't feel your best drink plenty of water and get good rest. Grandma's advice. I'm doing well lots of my friends are arriving for the winter it is so great to see them. I will be in Denver for Christmas also to see my Dr. at National Jewish. A follow up after he took me off my antibiotic's in Sept. I sure hope all is going well I would rather not have to go back on them. I hear Samantha is home now and probably getting ready to pack for Africa. I know you all will have a good time. Tell all them hello for me. My Love and prayers Grandma Farrell
28th October 2010

Sunny Arizona
Hello Grandma! Im glad that your friends are coming back down to keep you company! It will be nice that you will be in Denver for Christmas with everyone. I will be in Egypt at that point I believe :) I am very excited to see Sam and Mom and Dad in South Africa I really can hardly wait! Love you Grandma!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb