You Can Never Take my Freedom


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
June 1st 2010
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Doune CastleDoune CastleDoune Castle

The Castle where a FAMOUS movie was filmed .... Monty Python and the Holy Grail.
The Words that according to the Movie Braveheart William Wallace yelled before they decided to take on battle. Of course none of us were there, but the battle certainly took place, and William Wallace was very real. But I am getting ahead of myself.

We got up last Saturday morning at 3:34 am! Now, those of you who know me .... that is AMAZAZAZING .... we went to Waffle House for breakfast, picked up Joshua, got to the airport, and soon boarded. ONLY to have to go to Philadelphia for our layover of nearly 9 hours. BUT while we were there we were able to catch the train and go into town. I saw for the first time the Liberty Bell. I have to admit hearing about it and actually seeing it in person is very different. The story behind our Constitution, the men who studied writings from Orators of the early centuries and the bravery of those who were our Great-Great's.

Then back to the airport and on our way to Scotland. Thankfully we did not sit next to a screaming baby, the movie only repeated 4 times that I counted, and the lady who did sit next
William Wallace MonumentWilliam Wallace MonumentWilliam Wallace Monument

This Monument was very spectacular ... we climbed according to Anthony 8,000 feet to get to the top .....
to me was pleasant and liked to sleep. However, only 4 hours of sleep came my way.

When we did land at 6:40 am Sunday morning, we headed to the baggage recovery area. There were more golf club bag carriers coming through than suitcases at one point ... what in the world does that mean!!!! Anyone? Anyone?

Then to the car rental booth. Now, for my fellow workers who experienced my utter frustration the couple of days before I left I could have thrown something .... I tried for HOURS to get the UK maps downloaded onto a GPS. After many many many hours we got it. SOOOOO .... when we get in the car in SCOTLAND ... TOMTOM told us exactly where to go .... well Lola as we have decided the voice sounds more like a Lola, not a Tom. We only did a circle once, (while trying to understand what exactly she was telling us), we were not familiar with rotary terminology.

We could not check in at 8 am, so we changed, had a cup of tea, and had Lola take us to the Church Building. Adam, Melanie, Graham and Elizabeth were surprised to see us! But we had a wonderful worship and then lunch afterward where we began to get acquainted. Adam went to David Lipscomb and stayed with Ana Lou and Walt Holman in Sparta, my hometown! How ironic! Graham went to the Florida School of Preaching. But both Adam and Graham and their wives are Scotish to the bone ... and it pours out of their mouths with every syllable. Thankfully Anthony and I are not shy at saying "What did you say?" and that works fine, as they at times do not understand our perfect southern English. 😊

At this point, it is nearly 4 pm here (8 am in Tennessee) and we have now had barely 4 hours of sleep in 29 hours. A little slow of the go if you know what I mean. Yet, we woke at 1am ..... yep, time zones will get you.

Monday was their day off, so Adam and his family went to climb a hill ..... and we spent the day with Graham and Elizabeth and their family. They gave us a ride into Glascow, we had lunch, watch the Hubble Telescope on IMAX, and then visited with them at their home and had Spagetti Bolognese .... that is just Spagetti to us.

Today, Adam picked us up and we went with him on an errand and then to a couple of the local historic areas. Two of which I have included pictures for .... OH WAIT .... now ... I may or may not get the pics on, we just had a fire alarm go off in our Hotel and we had to evacuate the building! SOOOO ... I will let the pictures speak for themselves so I can get this published tonight!

Love you guys ...
Shasta







Advertisement



2nd June 2010

Next time I go to Ireland I am going over on the ferry and see a little of that country. Ya'll be careful in your travels. just ken
2nd June 2010

good
good stuff as always my dear. love you much. oh, it was 8,000 feet up and back, not just one way!!!!!
2nd June 2010

wow
Wow- ya'll are on the go again. I love the sites- THE PICS ARE GREAT. God Bless

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb