Vogue, The Thief, and Andrew McCattee


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
July 13th 2007
Published: July 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SO much has happened since I last blogged, but the reason for the delay is that so much has happened. We closed down the Fashion Street address. Then we had a fashion shoot with Vogue for Elle the day before we launched, so David and I set up for the Vogue shoot all morning - cleaning and re-painting etc. There was about a six person team from Vogue and we had to clear out the office for hair and makeup. But in the end, the shoot went really well, and Elle looked fabulous.

The next day was the launch and the Ten at One show. We set up a bar in the office and the gallery upstairs was headed by elle as she knows all the clients. I was set at the door (which I am a bit bitter about because I was supposed to be on sales, but in the end it was great). I spent most of the evening making sure that no one suspicious came to the private viewing, but I got to meet some amazing artists! I spent a good amount of time with Andrew McCatte and his family. He has a 23 month old girl that has the brightest red hair ever. She was so sweet, and was getting all messy in the yard, having a ball. Andrew is one of my favorite artists in the show and he's absolutely brilliant, so it was so cool talking with his wife and meeting his family. He is such a nice guy, really down to earth. Most contemporary artists are very calm and casual like that.
I also got to hang out with Henrik Simonsen, who is from Denmark. His work sold out in 15 minutes of the show being open, which made him really happy, so he and his friends Tom and Rachel spent two hours hanging out with me! I also got to meet Etienne Clement, who is from Paris and was very impressed that I could hold a conversation in French. He was really sweet and talked to me about immigrating ("just get married" har har). It was actually quite fun! The show went very well, and we sold a good amount of work, but the stress of a show is killer, I haven't slept really, but the biggest thing is eating, you don't really have time for food breaks! I was looking so forward to today because we got to go to lunch😊 I love David and Elle, though, they are amazing to me and so much fun!

Ok I need to go! but I'm back

Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb