Northern Wales and Addiction


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales
July 26th 2010
Published: July 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I left Ireland and flew into Liverpool before driving to Wales.
When I picked up the rental car in Liverpool, I received a map to help me get around...a map of the United Kingdom with Liverpool as a dot. Not very helpful! So there I was driving on the wrong side of the road at midnight in a manual transmission car with NO IDEA WHERE I WAS!!!!! I asked a taxi driver to point me in the right direction, which he did, and then when I got close, I paid another taxi driver to drive to my hostel and let me follow him.....needless to say, the next morning I purchased a GPS which tells me in a calm British voice where to turn. It has made driving fun again!
I am an American and I am addicted to cars! I LOVE the freedom to go where I want! Sorry, but I can't help it.....I am remebering how to drive a stick shift and getting used to driving on the other side of the road and the round abouts. I have only almost had a head on collision once, but fortunately my little VW has excellent brakes!

Liverpool was ok, but not what I was after, so I left for Wales!
So far I have visited 3 castles, travelled around some and climbed to the top of Mt Snowdon (the highest point in Ireland, England, or Wales)
Wales is kind of like a more rugged version of Ireland and the castles are way better! (Although, Wales is not as musical as Ireland)
All of the castles so far where built by King Edward in the 1290ish time frame. All are on the ocean or just up a river from it.
Conwy still has the town wall intact. Very cute little town.
Beaumaris is cool because it has inner and outer walls, and moat, and is symmetrical. Another neat little town, where I stopped to watch the local families fish for crabs off of the pier and a sailing race.
Caernarfon is AWESOME. Huge and very intact. This is where the original Prince of Wales was born and where Charles was made Prince of Wales. Lots of towers to climb with many steps. It was great fun to explore.

I took a break from the castles to do a little hiking up Mt Snowdon. It was raining on the way up and unfortunately, a lot of the way up and the peak was in the fog. The way down was much better....no rain and once I descended below the fog, the scenery was spectacular.

So far, Wales is BRILLIANT!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Caerfornon CastleCaerfornon Castle
Caerfornon Castle

I think I spelled that right!
Snowdon Snowdon
Snowdon

Note the fog
My rewardMy reward
My reward

My reward at the end of the trail. I real Wales Ale!


26th July 2010

you are now having too much fun!
This looks like an excellent place! i was in St Asif for a day or so and also thought the place and the people were incredible. the scones, clotted cream...and they really know how to make tea as well!!! keep up the excellent blog!!
26th July 2010

Wales Ale
Gotta admit, I'm getting a bit jealous myself! But, I love your narratives and fantastic pictures!
27th July 2010

UK
I do know some UK attorney's when you get stopped for driving the wrong way in the roundabouts. Sounds like a great trip so far.
27th July 2010

driving in Wales
I so didn't want to hear about the near collision!! At least you are going about fully clothed! love, mommo
28th July 2010

I've been to Conway Castle!
Took the family to Wales 10 years ago to visit my BIL (during the height of the Mad Cow Disease scare). Absolutely beautiful place, and the castle capital of the British Isles. Very under rated, and shale mines are interesting. Have fun!

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb