Wrexham County Borough 131 - Bangor on Dee /Christmas in the village /it's only/if only


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Wrexham
December 23rd 2023
Published: December 27th 2023
Edit Blog Post

It was hard walking today not to think a lot as I walked . I had headed out of the village . The proposed Christmas scarecrow competition had died a death. The Village Hall Committee had ditched the treasure hunt this year and opted for a film themed scarecrow competition . However, either all the villagers forgot about it or could not be bothered . There were decorations on some houses. Christmas wreaths of holly and ivy on doors. Lights hanging from some of the houses, dangling in the wind. Trees draped with lights. It did not seem like Christmas much this year . The soldiers outside the Buck were missing . I guess that had something to do with the pub going bust again . The staff and the bills unpaid . The new tenants the owners of the Fat Boar chain had recently come in but were not serving festive food just drinks. The church was lit up in a lovely warm shade of orange and the decorations were waving in the windy condition . As were the lights that adorned the fence and the christmas tree . I guess Christmas had come to the village but it seemed rather muted . The annual carol service at St Dunawds had been well attended and Christingle service was advertised on the church notice board . Brians tractor run would come through the village tonight . The pop up library was not calling in December . I had made sure I had sufficient books to keep me going over the festive season . They should last until the end of January . As I walked past the village hall there were signs that the Cosy Club - not a name I would have chosen was on hold until the New Year . So no more coffee mornings, yoga, art classes nor keep feet for a week or two . The swimming pool in town is closed now for the festive period. It all seemed extremely quiet . Normal for Christmas I guess .

I reached the river bank which was muddy and that was the last of the houses or any vestiges of Christmas cheer . All I could hear was the flapping of birds wings . No sign of life . No humans walking their dogs nor any sign of life on the river. The rivers authority had put signs up to say that they were doing maintenance to the river bank. I saw no sign of that . Had they arrived , worked on the bank and gone ? I could not tell . I guessed that perhaps not and they would arrive in the New Year and close the footpaths for a week or so whilst they tended to the flood defences .

I had put the tree up at home . Left very much to last minute . I began to think of Christmas past . Never a good thing. Holly Christmas trees decorated with glass balls and candles . The candles lit once. The lights switched off in anticipation and then the glow of the pretty pastel coloured candles . Too dangerous to leave them burning all day . Unlike today when the electric fairy lights blaze out 24/7. The cards had all arrived.

As I walked I heard the woodpecker in the woods tapping away. Early this year by about a month I thought . I passed the racecourse . The advertising boards told me the next race would be February 9th weather dependent. The sky was a light blue with a translucent look. It felt as if it went on forever . No sign on the sun which was hiding behind some ominous black clouds . I thought if only it stops raining for a while it will be a good walk . Life is full of if onlys. If only we had done this or not done that . I guess we all say the same thing and wonder what things would be like if only we had done something different .

A car flew by giving the impression of someone who did not care about anything . It's only a quiet road. I can travel as fast as I want . He ran over a grey squirrel which had attempted to run from one side of the road to the other . It lay there not quite dead . I had thought to move it but it died before I got there. I imagined the it's only scenario. It is only a grey squirrel and there a lot of them . They are imported pests . The driver did not care at all and probably never gave it much of a thought . If only and it's only are two very short words but they mean a lot .

I left the squirrel behind and continued on my way up the hill. I was travelling in circular route today with the village to my left . A mist was covering Minera mountain . If only it would lift . I would be able to see for miles. It's only mist . I hope it is not rain. I as finding the more I thought of if only and it's only the more I was using those words .

As I approached the village I saw a crowd of red jacketed men scouring the banks. Further one a number more . A man on the bridge with a thick rope dropping it in the water and dredging . A young girl had gone missing . The policeman stopped me and asked had I seen anything of her on my walk . If only I thought . A police helicopter flew overhead . What a Christmas for the rescue services . If only they could have a peaceful one but today was going to be anything but peaceful .

Advertisement



27th December 2023

Poor squirrel :-( didnt even make it to Christmas :-( Hope you had a good one?!! x
27th December 2023

poor squirrel
Hi Jackie - no sadly he failed to survive . I must admit I had my shoe ready to clout him on his head and put him out of his misery but he breathed his last as I got there. Quiet Christmas . Daughter came up on Christmas Eve but the rest of the days were pretty boring . It again was one of those times when I wished we had the van and did not have the cat so we could have gone to France for Christmas . Been a funny old week here . The girl went missing on the 22nd and was last seen here in the village . I have never seen so much activity from the police on Christmas Day. I believe she was an alcoholic and probably ended up in the Dee . She will be found eventually as usually suicides of which there a quite a few here end up at the weir further down river . Hope you too had a good festive season . Any plans in the pipeline ? We have none . Even the planning has gone into some kind of black hole . I fancy a trip to Egypt or to one of the "stans " following the silk road . Think that is more in my mind than Glenns . Hope your New Year is a good one too and 2024 kind to you. x
28th December 2023

Oh Dear!
We had a fairly busy christmas. My daughter, son-in-law and grandkids came round to us on Christmas Da for lunch and tean and them boxing day we took our Mum and Dad out for lunch with my son and his partner and then back to his house, where my sister, nephew and wife, niece and hubby visited!! Going to London tomorrow to see Chris' sister for lunch and then visiting a friend and back Sunday!! Whew!! Off to Spain on Thrusday until March (popping back in Feb for 1/2term!!) away from all this madness!!! No plans after then at all yet.......Ive got my eye on a 6 night cruise from Bristol to the scilly Iles with our mum....but unsure yet! Its difficult to make plans with our Dad like he is! Anyway, HAPPY NEW YEAR
28th December 2023

Oh Dear!
to you and all of your family!! Sorry! The last message was sent before I had finished it!!! x

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb