Wrexham County Borough 109 - The end of 2022/the start of 2023/the last walk of the year around the village/the sentries outside the pub


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Wrexham
January 2nd 2023
Published: January 2nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

"Every day we are engaged in a miracle which we don't even recognise; a blue sky, white clouds, green leaves, the black curious eyes of a child -our own two eyes. " "All is a miracle." Woke up to the words of Thich Naht Hanh and they made me smile . I had not quite got a blue sky nor were the clouds white and there were no leaves on the trees. But I was out for a walk and there was enough out there to make me think about the miracle waking up and being able to get out for my walk .

My walk was a usual one but with the most of unusual thoughts. I looked for the blue sky and it might have been there somewhere but the clouds which were not white hid the sky and the sun. The clouds were more leaden and a mixture of grey, silver and a dull metal colour . The sun did put in an appearance on the horizon. A strange pale yellow colour which filtered slowly through the clouds . I heard the birds singing. I saw squirrels running in and around the trees. They leapt over the puddles in the road and I could hear the squelching sound as they worked their way through the undergrowth which was sodden.

I walked past the church decorations. They soon would be taken down for another year. The reindeer kindly donated by the Buck Hotel were still outside the church and two sentries guarded the pub doorway. They too would soon be taken down. The church would be closing for a month sometime this week . The money had been found to repair the crumbling pillars.

The river was up slightly with all the rain that had recently fallen. The first flood warning of the year had been issued . Three weeks earlier than last year. It was swollen and fast flowing. The fields were not under water and the road appeared clear but the metal cages full of stones which had been placed along the river bank could not be seen. They were underwater but doing their job of holding the river back .

. It was the end of 2022 What a year it has been? Two holidays . My memories were running back and to from the early Spring holiday to the South of France and then on to the Autumn holiday in Denmark . Both very different holidays . One to the south of Europe . The second to the north. Each very different . We saw some interesting sights in both holidays . I suppose I had not guessed at the time that they would be the last motorhome holidays and any holidays in 2023 would be taken in the car . I had not imagined I would be retired and finished at work . What a lot of water had gone under the bridge in 2022.

The trees were skeletal and looked majestic. The hedges were in some places green with the icy that clung to them. It won't be long before Spring the hedges will green up with the new leaves, the riverbank will be covered in yellow or white as the Spring flowers push their way through. My thoughts were broken as I met up with a lady that I had not seen for some months. We wished each other a Happy New Year. And then another walker who greeted me. Talking to them took my mind off my 2022 thoughts . The car damaged a few weeks back due to be repaired shortly and thoughts of 2023 and our only planned holiday. The bridge over the river looked strange as it always does when the river is in full swing. I had finally reached the village again passing more runners and a lonely cyclist on the way .

The signs for the village treasure hunt were all ready to be removed . The new signs this year had been smaller and made of plastic rather than wood . Each one with a pretty Christmassy picture , a sponsors name and a letter . The letters making up a Christmas song this year . All would return to normality once they come down , the tree is removed and the reindeers put to bed for another year . Have I missed Christmas away this year? The village has done its best to cheer itself up. Perhaps we will get Christmas away 2023 - who knows?

Time for coffee and getting ready for the football. The return away match against Solihull Moors. We have never beaten them away from home . Perhaps today will be that day when we show them how to play the beautiful game . .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb