Wrexham County Borough 106 - Age Considers- Youth Ventures /frosty mornings / Christmas is coming even to our tiny village


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Wrexham
December 10th 2022
Published: December 11th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Christmas has come to our tiny village. We seem to have had a number of coffee mornings and Christmas fayres already and it is only just the start of December. The church held a coffee morning run by the Bangor Academicals at the same time as the local school put on their Christmas fayre. The treasure hunt is up and running . As I walk around the village I see the new signs attached to lampposts. Gone are the huge chipboards signs of two years ago and last year . Now we have plastic new ones . A robin on the lamppost outside our house. I have not seen many children paying their £1 entry and walking the village in search of the Christmas message. Perhaps age considers it better to stay in on these cold frosty mornings. I thought that youth would have ventured out. That was this mornings offering on my day to day calendar. The words of Rabindranath Tagore were ringing in my ears. Age considers - well of course we do. With the benefit of hindsight and acquired knowledge we make decisions. Not taking things lightly we look at so many things . Should I go to the coffee morning? No don't think so. Should I go for a walk ? I will wait for the sun to come out and perhaps at 10 it will be safer. Light and no frosty pavements. Do I attend the School fayre? Perhaps not . But what does appeal is the lantern walk to the newly put up Christmas tree. Carols, turkey baps and mulled wine . Sounded good to me as I paced round the village. My trusty phone handy to take a picture of anything that interested me.

I had considered the river bank but the grass was frosted and damp. My walk would just take me round the streets and lanes of the village. Looking out for Christmas decorations in the gardens and on the houses. There were a few decorated houses but I wondered if the cost of electricity these days would put people off from lighting up the outside of their homes and their garden trees. At Wingerworth there would have been a decorated tree outside the village hall. The one at Bangor was probably bigger and very nicely decorated . Three wire reindeers were anchored to the ground and strewn with lights. Due to the cost of energy the church was open but unheated. The lights were no longer lit in the evening showing the beauty of the tower. Perhaps next year things will be different? The local pub the Buck had re-opened and they had put on Christmas fayre. Two jolly sentries stood guard . I saw very few houses with lights. One with candles in the windows which looked cheery. A couple with wreaths on their doors. In Wingerworth there would have been paper decorations strung from trees in gardens, Buddhas would be decorated with lights and cheery shop windows would be full of Christmas delights . Was I just painting a rosy picture on life in our old house or was it actually real?

The postie doesn't call every day either. They strike for two days running and are being told that they are holding Christmas to ransom. Perhaps that is true. Keir Starmer has lost 11 points in the opinion polls to Rishi Sunak. Is that Sunaks good ideas and good leadership or more about the worry of strikes and a return to the 1970's? Funny how when there is nothing to see the mind ponders all sorts of rubbish. Wreaths purchased and three are being delivered today. The local magazine was delivered this morning and I have earmarked trips out to see the Christmas trees in Gresford church . Will we be fed up of seeing Christmas trees ? Football Saturday - the first streaming from Eastleigh. Now that will be a novelty . Racing cancelled for the December meet . The going too hard . A christmas meal booked with the early morning swimmers . All of a sudden as I walked I felt that there were not going to be enough days between now and Christmas to fit everything in.

So age was considering - a cold old football match at the Cae Ras on Tuesday. My new coat out of stock and cancelled so the next job heading for the wardrobe to hunt out extra socks, warm and woolly gloves and boots, a couple of thick scarves and layers upon layers of thick clothing . Christmas is coming and we are off to meet up with Jo and Woolly in a few days time. Something to look forward to. We never made the lantern walk nor ate the turkey baps or drunk the mulled wine. Age considered and it was too cold to venture out .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 31; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb