Wrexham County Borough 20 - Bangor on Dee a sheeps viewpoint on a new home


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Wrexham
February 20th 2021
Published: March 2nd 2021
Edit Blog Post

"Nearly a year !!!!!! It has been nearly a year since that eeejit Bojo closed down the country due to Covid ". Yes Sion you are quite right . We are creeping onwards to a full year of lockdown with all those shops closed and worse still no holidays . No haircut either . But I am not sure you really should call the Prime Minister an eeejit . "I shall call him what I like " "if I want to call hm an ee................"Now Sion unless you are going to play nicely then I am not allowing you to write this blog,. I dont care that you have not been on holiday since France . That is not strictly true as we took you to Durham a year ago . "Yes I remember that , it was cold on Hadrians wall , my wool never kept me warm and I got wet . You know how much Woolly Mammoth and I hate water . And I did not get to see any sign of Hadrian " Yes that was true on all counts . The weather was atrocious , the wind howled and rain came down in bucketloads . A bit like the last few days here . Duck weather . They would love all that rain . And it was true that our Sheep friend complained constantly as he was permanently cold and damp , wanted to avoid the rain and could not understand why Hadrian was missing from his wall . "a dereliction of duty - that is " Indeed it is Sion . "of course if I were a centurian I think I would prefer to be in sunny Spain or patrolling a wall in sunny Italy rather than a misty horrible wall in the North East of England " Ok my sheep friend you have made your point .

And we took you away in Gabby in September . "Oh yes I forgot about that one . We saw a couple of castles in the North East . And then had to rush home because some eeeeeee..........j...." Yes OK Sion we get the picture. We lost the sale of the house and yes they were idiots and yes we had to come home for another viewing . Yes Yes it did spoil the holiday . And before you say it Sion we did not get away for France at Christmas because of Boris and lockdown .

So Sion lets have a bit of positivity instead of all that negativity . You are back in Wales . "Indeed I am . Back home . Back where I belong . Welsh Cakes , Bara Brith and lovely welsh singy songy accents . Sheep - lots of them . Closer to Woolly Mammoth , water .............aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarghhhhh water !!!!" Yes we are indeed back home . We have been made most welcome with the neighbours stopping for a chat . Curious about us , where we have come from , what made us move here. Why buy this house that needs a lot of work doing to it ? Why Bangor on Dee ? Why not ? It is a pretty little village one tenth the size of Wingerworth where we came from ." Yep it takes me ten times less time to walk round it ". "I like the river . I want to see the Kingfishers but I am getting fed up of flood alerts , flood warnings and full scale flood evacuations " But you liked the policemen and firemen when they brought their life raft to the end of the road Sion . "Yes I did but they wouldnt let me ride in it . So I went off them . I saw this morning that the river had gone up by over 2 metres again. I wont be walking along the riverbank anytime soon "


No with all this rain it would be far too muddy to walk along and the river wouldnt be safe . Another few more metres and it will higher than it was three weeks ago when the roads became rivers and were impassable . "I like the little village shop . They sell home made butchers sausages and thick home cured bacon and they seem very friendly and nice ." "I have tried to play I spy in the village but its not big enough . It is like Arkwrights corner shop packed out with as much as the space allows .

I did find an old valve that used to pump water through the drains right up to the 1960's. " That was a good spot Sion as it was well hidden by the side of the war memorial . "I spied an old mangle too " There was quite a lot to see if you looked hard enough ."I spy a wonky sign and I spy pubs - I spy the church " Even if it was a small village there was indeed a lot to spy. There seem to be lots of dogs . Not the sort of snappy barking Spanish dogs but well behaved ones , Mostly sheep dogs out with their owners . We spoke to everyone as they walked by. A cheery hello , a big smile and big woof from the dogs . The gardens are not as interesting as Wingerworth . There are not enough of them . Time will tell what I will see in the Spring when it finally arrives and it is only just around the corner. "Will we get away in Spring ? " Well I hope so Sion . We need a break . Our walk around the village had come to an end . Of course Sion did not walk much . He ended up snuggled under my coat . He wants to see the kingfishers next . He has heard and seen the woodpeckers but the flash of blue along the river is something he has wanted to see for sometime . We just have to find them . Welcome to Sions take on his new home.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.549s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 39; qc: 199; dbt: 0.3013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.6mb