Gower Peninsula


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Swansea » Gower Peninsula
September 30th 2007
Saved: April 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Looking down the beachLooking down the beachLooking down the beach

Take a deep breath and jump.
Well, this is technically a throwback to a hike that I took a week ago on the gower peninsula. Much of it will appear desolate and probably not as too much fun, however, I enjoyed it! Bearing in mind of course, that I love the outdoors and scenic locales.

This is actually the land that king arthur supposedly ruled over and on our bus ride in, we actually passed one of the many "sword stones" from which he pulled his mighty sword. At this time I would like to thank my awesome author/aunt for giving me a copy of "The Once and Future King" from which I know atleast the fictional myth and parable of the mighty king arthur.

Landscape landscape and more landscape photos.

Until we got down to the bay, and all of this club's hikes end in a pub. So I had a pint of guinness. Well deserved and a perfect cap to a nice walk. Shame on the multitudes of people I witnessed buying soda pop.

After sipping that and talking to a fellow hiker about gun laws in the UK I headed out with a small group for the beach. Upon spying
WormheadWormheadWormhead

crikey! That's a large worm.
some windsurfers on the shore, I quickly made friends and talked to them for awhile, while hopping around incoming waves and wearing the outfit you can see below. Quite an awesome culture they have, and it brought on a slight bought of melancholy for old sitzmark. I was very amused by the young guy's love of freestyle windsurfing while the old guys prefer just carving and speed. Juxtapose skiing for windsurfing and you have nailed the culture of most skihills. I definitely could've chilled with them at the bar if the tour bus wasn't waiting back at the pub.

I have found again and again that meeting older people within an area (and by older I mean non university) seems to be a much more enriching experience than simply touring or bumbling along. Although when I'm with my flat mate pals, life is pretty good.

Now would also be a good point to mention and apologize for typo/grammatical/spelling errors throughout the remainder of this venture. I intend to write these blogs on the fly, and I have a tough type writing perfect prose from the onset, and maybe you will appreciate my quirks and damned well bad english
PasturePasturePasture

One rock walled pasture, stretching down and back, with one horse. You'll have to take my word for it, but this guy looked pretty happy.
before this trip is over.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

OhOh
Oh

Best. Outfit. Ever. Never again.
Almost GlosoliAlmost Glosoli
Almost Glosoli

I wouldn't be surprised if it was near.
WindsurfersWindsurfers
Windsurfers

Two older guys having a good time
TalkingTalking
Talking

"Man you were like THAT high"


Comments only available on published blogs

8th October 2007

Wrangling Over the King
Interesting that so many regions and countries claim King Arthur, a mythical king who may not have existed. But we love and need heroes, Men/women who can't be corrupted by political views. When I read from The Once and Future King, the part in which Arthur knights young Tom and tells him to avoid the big battle that is occurring the next day, I still get chills. Arthur tells the boy to (paraphrasing) take this light and don't let it go out. In other words, keep telling Arthur's story so it will endure through the ages. Romantic stuff, some would say, but we still need our heroes and a light of truth to follow. Everyone should see a good production of Camelot. It can still stir the heart. The photos are superb. Keep them coming.
15th October 2007

you.
Reading your entries reminded me of how much i miss you.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb