just for fun


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Powys » Welshpool
July 1st 2020
Published: July 1st 2020
Edit Blog Post

I think for my last birthday, Alex bought me a basket making kit. Well, whenever I thought I might have a go, I remembered that the willow must be soaked for 48 hours before it could be used and was thus not ready. But mostly the pack was gathering dust in a corner. But what better way to spend some time in lockdown, I suddenly thought, just as we're nearing the end. So, that's what I was doing yesterday. Sadly its a poor job half done, as after an hour my hands were so cramped that I couldn't hold the willow. And beside that, you need some strength too. So even if it was finished, the spaces are so big I'd need some pretty large berries so they didn't fall through the gaps! I don't think I have a career in willow weaving, but I enjoyed having a go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



2nd July 2020

Looks quite difficult
You may have needed to soak the willow for a week to make it more pliable!
4th July 2020

I t looks good fun but as you say hard on the hands, maybe use flax instead?

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb