Dai's Slow lejog


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Monmouthshire » Chepstow
April 4th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Chepstow to Abergavenny


Day 14 Chepstow- Abergavenny 29 miles (419)



An early start to catch the train up to Chepstow meant that I was on the road by 9.15. After the initial pull up the hill out of Chepstow I followed the quiet B road out to Mynydd Bach where I turned on to minor roads through Shirenewton. A steady pull brought me up after about ten miles to the large Went Wood where the road skirtedthe northern edge of the wood. The bright sunny morning showed up the trees at their best and I had glimpses of fallow deer and also of hare in the fields. An exhilirating four mile decent brought me down into the small town of Usk where I stopped for a cuppa in the quiet main square. A gentle run following the Usk and then the "old" road parallel to the dual carraigeway A40 brought me to Abergavenny where I just caught my train back having been delayed by two punctures in the last two miles.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb