Altricham, Wales and the Lake District


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Isle of Anglesey
March 1st 2012
Published: March 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

From London and Oxford, I headed up to Manchester in the northwest of England. Nearby is my home town of Altrincham. I visited my cousins and friends from my youth. Frazer was kind enough to let me stay with him! My other cousin, Craige, drove me out to Wales for a day to meet with my Aunt and Uncle in Anglesey. I visited some of my old haunts around Altrincham including the residence and grounds at Dunham Massey. As I had a spare day at the end of my visit, I took a whirlwind tour of the Lake District. This involved a tram into Manchester, a connecting train to Windermere and a bus to Ambleside. I went for a hike around Ambleside up in to the hills and visited a waterfall. I made it back to town in time to pick up a pie for lunch and jump on a local bus to Connistan. I had several hours to make my way north from Connistan through fields and farmhouses to the lakes at Tarn Hows. From here it was a familiar walk to the town of Hawkshead where I had stayed many times as a young boy. I just had enough time to look around town before I had to catch my local bus back to Ambleside, with a 2 minute transfer to Windermere. This gave me a half hour to climb up the hill behind Elleray Wood. I arrived back just in time for my train back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb