Richard visiting England - Feb 2012


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
February 27th 2012
Published: February 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Dear Friends and Family,

I'm having a fantastic time visiting my friends Cathy, Rhiannon and Richard in London and Oxford. I toured Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben and the Southbank of the Thames on my first day. I met up with my old classmate from 25 years ago - Marcus Lesser - and we caught up on one another's lives. I managed to find Cathy's apartment (flat) in the middle of the night near Chelsea. I had some great sunshine so spent my day in Notting Hill, Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park. In the evening, I was off to see the wizard at the Wizard of Oz musical with Cathy. I caught the Oxford Tube (bus) to see Rhi and Richard and their boys - Owen, Ellis and Alex. Unfortunately we got our communcations crossed so Rhi spent a half hour checking different bus stops for me while I went ahead and walked to her house.

We spent Saturday walking into town through the fields, having lunch at Pizza Express (which was a lot fancier than it sounds). Rhiannon decided to take me to a Super Comic Book Convention in London on Sunday. We had lots of fun meeting the artists who were creating personal sketches for the fans and signing comic books. We took pictures of all the people dressed up and Rhi got a great photo with a full size stormtrooper. The higlight of the day was attending a Q&A session with Stan 'The Man' Lee (the creator of Spider-Man, the Huk and hundreds of other characters). I even got to take a photo with him. After a visit to St. Pauls and a fancy meal at Covent Gardens, we caught the bus back to Oxford.

Tomorrow I will be heading up to Altrincham, near Manchester, to meet up with my Cousins and invite them to my wedding to Ms. Ann Lee in Stanley Park, Vancouver, in July 2012.

Cheers, Richard


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



27th February 2012

Aww... I get a mention? :) Sounds like fun! I want to see Wizard of Oz! Where are the pix of the boys? Miss you...

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb