Meeting the Family


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Conwy » Colwyn Bay
June 9th 2006
Published: August 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

At last I am back to the odd keyboard in the land of our ancient
lords across the pond. And here I sit in the house of the family of
my friend, my path lit by the passion for adventure and the
impetuousness of youth. I am punctual and well; with both on my
side, this should prove to be a fantastic journey.

Landing perfectly on time at Manchester airport, I disembarked to
find all my luggage accounted for thanfully. I made my way to the
train station after asking information and found tickets to Colwyn
Bay which is where Dave's (Christie's fiancee) family lives. I asked
about hostel discounts and rail passes and ended up only getting a
young person discount which costs £20 but you get a third off for
every ticket which will eventually pay off. I exchanged my money to
find that everything was immediately halfed! This is going to be an
expensive trip. The prices are still the same so when a meal costs
£6 it really costs $12! Yikes.

Anyway, got to Colwyn Bay by two and took the taxi to the address
Christie had give me, only cost me 3 quid. Once there, I met all the
family and we went back in the garden where the Sherrys have been
building a little pond and gazebo that are quite nice and well
built. They're putting me up in my own room, so that's really nice
before I spend most nights in packed rooms of smelly backpackers.

I got to see Shauna and Christie and Christie's mom again and it was
quite nice to have the reunion. We stayed back in the garden and
talked for a while. Then the kids, meaning Shauna, Christie, Dave,
and I decided to go to the beach which wasn't far off from here. We
stopped by Gill's (a family friend) where Christie's aunt, uncle and
cousins are staying. We picked up the two kids, Erin and Kyle and
all went to the beach. It was no CA beach but the water was really
nice. Gotta love the Atlantic. We walked out really far cause it
was quite shallow and played with the jellyfish (found to be
nonstingy by experiment) and sandskimmers. Threw some frisby, some
rugby, good times.

We then went out to dinner and had some really good food, came back
to the house and drank wine and talked a bit longer and then the
adults went to bed and the kids stayed up, built a fire and hung out
some more before going to bed. It's been a full and good day and I
seem to be all caught up with my circadian rhythms. I should go
though, still here at the Sherrys and we're about to go out to the
market. Oh btw, I approve of Dave, the dart playing, rugby throwing,
smoking welshman that he is. He seems a good guy. 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb