UK Trip Day 3 and 4, Betws-y-Coed


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Conwy » Betws-y-Coed
October 20th 2009
Published: October 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Betws-y-Coed

A map of Betws-y-Coed

Betws-y-Coed_Saint_Marys_ChurchBetws-y-Coed_Saint_Marys_ChurchBetws-y-Coed_Saint_Marys_Church

The church from Church Hill behind the church.

All plans execute as planed. Right?


2009, Oct 19th and 20th



Well, I had planned to pick up the Dee Way in Chester and follow it to Bala. Oddly enough though I can’t seem to find anyone who knows anything about the Dee Way path. Nothing in the various tourists information centers nor could I find any markers on the Dee river or Canals. I guess this is the difference between a national trail and a more regional one that is fairly new.

With no real way to identify how to proceed and having no fixed plans I decided to travel to the Snowdonia region of Northern Wales. Betws-y-Coed to be specific. Betws-y-Coed is a beautiful outdoorsman and walkers delight. Dozens of walks all of which are near the town itself most of which are easy to moderate in difficulty. Plenty of nice tourist shops and most importantly about 10 or so outdoor shops for everything you might need from walking shoes to bicycle rentals.



Betws-y-Coed, 2009 Oct 19th , The Blast from my past.



So I arrive by train on the 19th of October around 10:30 am. The train station is right next to
Betws-y-Coed_Nice_BridgeBetws-y-Coed_Nice_BridgeBetws-y-Coed_Nice_Bridge

Nice bridge in Betws-y-Coed.
the Tourist Information Center (TIC) which is my first destination. I have always found that the easiest way to find a B&B witch meets my specifications (usually price and convenience) is to go to a TIC and have them find a booking. If the TIC is busy you often can leave your desires for a B&B and go get a bite to eat or wander around for 30 minutes to an hour. When you return they will have a selection of places to suit your needs. More likely they will be able to make one or two phone calls and have a place for you immediately.

This time was no different and they had a place for me on the second call. As I came in by train and I didn’t want to stay out of town they found a nice 3 star B&B in town in back of the St. Mary’s Church. This means I can walk about 50 yards to several places to eat dinner or to one of the small markets to get bottled water, drinks, Pastys, etc.

By the time I have checked in at the B&B I decide to start to wander around. Heading west through town I find a bridge over a lovely little picnic area. Huge boulders thrust up from the river creating a lot of white water as the river flows over them and under the ridge. Soon I will add in some pictures as soon as I figure out how to do that.

I see a trail head and decide to start walking eventually realizing I am on the path to the nearby Swallow Falls which my wife and I visited on our honeymoon in 2003. This is an easy walk that proceeds uphill (not too steep) toward the falls. The falls cost 1.50 pounds to enter and is sort of worth it. Don’t expect anything to grand but they are quite lovely. I decide to come back to town the fast way on the A5 Road in order to squeeze in one more walk before the sun goes down. It is about 3 in the afternoon at this time.

The walk I want to do is called the Llyn Elsi walk and is about 6 miles round trip although I plan on doing a shorter portion of the this walk. This is a fairly easy walk
lake_Llyn_Elsilake_Llyn_Elsilake_Llyn_Elsi

Lake Llyn Elsi in Betws-y-Coed. This is the climax of a 6 mile walk that leads around the lake.
in the sense of the path is an unpaved road and easy to manage but the first part is quite steep and even have 50 yards will cause anyone who doesn’t work out regularly to start breathing quite heavily. This walk is also one that Lori and I did in 2003 and my recollection was that this was well worth it as the climax is a gentle walk around the hidden mountain lake (tarn I guess is the proper term) Llyn Elsi.

While Lori and I walked around the whole lake this time I plan on just getting to a monument and viewpoint which offers the best view of the lake and should cut the walk down to a more manageable time. Normally I wouldn’t flinch at taking the proper time to walk around the lake and unless you are fighting the setting sun you should take the time to walk around the lake which is well worth it.

So here is the great thing about Betws-y-Coed. You can arrive in the late morning, find a B&B and check in, and then squeeze in two fairly short walks without any hassle what so ever. And I didn’t have
monument_at_Llyn_Elsimonument_at_Llyn_Elsimonument_at_Llyn_Elsi

The monument at Llyn Elsi at Betws-y-Coed.
to choose those walks. There were several other options of short easy walks to do. This allows you to mix things up and still get back for an early dinner and enough time to get a pint and make sexy chit chat with the local women (note don’t let wife read blog).



Betws-y-Coed, 2009 Oct 20th , All variables are local.



I considered taking the bus to Snowdon mountain but opt instead for a trip to something new. Fairy Glen and then onto Conwy and Machno Falls.

Fairly Glen was interesting. Only 50p to enter and I would say definitely worth that. The nice thing is that I am in this area at the start of off season and I think there are so many paths to choose from that you often find your self alone. I had (as far as I could tell) the whole trail to myself and as it would turn out I never saw another soul until I made it back to the main road to the Conwy Falls trail head.

All I can say is if you can read up on some of these walks before hand. I tend
zwartbles_Sheepzwartbles_Sheepzwartbles_Sheep

Zwartbles sheep near the Fairy Glen walk near Betws-y-Coed. These sheep are so cool looking.
to just follow my nose which is great in its own way but sometimes to think you missed something. Had I planned this one before hand I could have added a leg to get to the top of Dinas Mawr which is a big crag that you will continually see on this walk. The views from the top of that crag I am sure quite lovely. Well maybe tomorrow or another trip.

Conwy Falls cost 1 pound and I also judge this to be worth it and in my opinion are much prettier then the Swallow Falls I visited the day before. The falls break into two halves water falling down to the left and to the right with a huge pile of rocks breaking up the middle. To the right you can see some sort of small cave and it looks like water is perhaps coming from there as well. They don’t let you get too close to the water here for safety reasons but the view is worth. I will insert a video as well if I can figure out how to do so.

I travel on the Machno Falls which is free but are far
fairy_Glenfairy_Glenfairy_Glen

A picture of part of the Fairy Glen near Betws-y-Coed.
less impressive. However, if you are planning on walking back to town at this time you may as well add the extra ½ mile and go over the Roman Bridge (I don’t think it is really a Roman Bridge but for some reason is just called that) and by Machno Falls as they are quite pretty and free. Just one of the many things you get to see when just roaming through Wales.

I have to say Wales is an amazing country to visit. The people are friendly, the land offers unsurpassed beauty, and the history is fascinating. This is probably why I find myself continually coming back. I highly recommend you visit any of the amazing areas of Wales. Take in a castle and then find a good pub to take in a hearty welsh meal and get a good pint. If you can strike up a conversation with a local and find out the unknown hidden gems that only the locals seem to know. If your experience is anything like mine you will find the locals friendly and quite knowledge about the unique things to do in that region. You will likely find that your vacation will
roman_Bridgeroman_Bridgeroman_Bridge

A pircture of somethign called the Roman Bridge near Betws-y-Coed. I don't think it actual is Roman.
be unexpectedly affected by the knowledge gained from these conversations and this has happened to me time and again.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

horseshorses
horses

Horses in a pasture near Betws-y-Coed and Machno Falls.


Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb