Into Wales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
July 13th 2014
Published: July 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post


The tardis
I met two American girls last night who were cousins. We talked for a bit last night and I found out one of them lives in the same town as my aunt. This morning when I woke up, I said goodbye to them and checked out of my hostel. As I was carrying my suitcase down two flights of stairs, a guy grabbed it and took it down the stairs for me. So thankful to have helpful gentlemen around. After I received my deposit back, I walked from my hostel to the train station. Taking the train in the U.K. is super easy. I love trains and these are probably the best trains I have been on. I had to get from Bath Spa to Bristol Temple Meads, get off and get on the train to Bristol Parkway. From Bristol Parkway I took the train to Cardiff Central. Although I had two stops, I didn’t have any problems. It took about 2 and a half hours. I got to my hostel, Bunkhouse Cardiff, around 12 but check in wasn’t until 2. I only have one night here in Cardiff, so I didn’t want to waste any time. I went straight to

Matt Smith's famous outfit
the Doctor Who Experience. My main and only reason for going to Cardiff was for the Doctor Who Experience. I took the bus to get to Cardiff Bay. It was only 1.80 and I decided that I could walk back. When I got there, I bought my ticket (student discounts are awesome!) and waited until it was my allotted time to go in. The first part of the experience is an adventure. You follow the Doctor around on one of his adventures in the Tardis saving the world from Daleks and Weeping Angels. We weren’t allowed to take photos, and since there is a new doctor the exhibit is changing. That means it will be closed in August, so I am one of the few people left to ever see the experience with Matt Smith as the doctor. It was pretty awesome. After the adventure is over, you get to explore the archives and take pictures. They have a bunch of costumes and replicas of all types of creatures along with the inside of several different doctor’s tardis. I got to take selfies with the tardis, weeping angels, cyber men, and daleks. I felt like such a complete nerd, but

Rose and Cap. Jack
it was definitely a lot of fun. Afterwards, I walked back to Cardiff central and saw a church on church street and the castle. I ate at a Chinese buffet for dinner. I have to say, America has the best Chinese food, but I was hungry and it was good. The wifi is kinda weird at this hostel as well, but there are a lot of plugs in the room! Tomorrow I will be heading up to Conwy/Llandudo, Wales. Until then


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Handprints for the 50th anniversary special.


The 9th and 10th Doctor outfits


Inside of tardis


Captain Jack


First episode when Clara was a dalek


Daleks.


The angels.


Cardiff castle


Inside shopping lanes called Royal Arcade


A church


Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 16; qc: 65; dbt: 0.097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb