The Final Installment Pt 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
November 17th 2009
Published: November 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

If anyone is still reading about my trip and hasnt forgotten me entirely 😊
My Next stop was London.
Just a quick visit of four days i thought would be suffice but i love the place and could have spent a lot longer just wandering around. As i am not good with remembering which days i did what it shall be a summary of the visit on a whole.
I do know that i arrived on the 9th November via the eurostar from Paris at around 8pm local time. So i hopped on the underground and headed towards Russel Square. The ticket for two stops was £4 :S argh! i knew i was in for a BIT of an expensive time. But seeing as the dollar is at about 50p i was feeling a little better. Last time i was in the UK our dollar was at around 34p... Anywho i headed straight to the hostel and into bed. I do believe my first day was just spent wandering around Leicester Square, TRafalgar square, Piccadilly circus and the like. I did spend quite a bit of time in HMV which is i would say close to our JB hifi. but better. I purchased 5 DVD's for £25 so just under $50. I was pleased but thought it best to not enter that store again as it would be a danger to my purse strings. Very good and very cheap DVD's which are my weakness. At the end of the day i traced my steps back to Leicester square with the idea that i would buy a ticket to go see Oliver that night. But when i arrived i stumbled upon men setting up fences and a sign above the cinema with 'UK PREMIERE TONIGHT' I had a quick investigate and found out that the premiere of Michael Cains new movie 'Harry Brown' would be that night so i stayed for 2 hours and watched them set up the red carpet and wathced the crowds gradually build. I had already got myself a lovely little spot on the fence just outside the entrance to the cinema.. ah my first movie premiere. It was GREAT! although i lost feeling in my fingers and had nothing for him to sign i still enjoyed the atmosphere. Michael Cain was literally 2 metres or less away from me 😱 and i struck up a converstaion with this man standing beside me who proceeded to show me photos on his camera of previous premieres he had been to in 09 and had photos of people such as Will Smith, Paul Walker, Tom Cruise, Dwayne Johnson, Kate Winslet! very cool.

The next day i think was the day i walked around Hyde Park and visited the statue of Peter Pan. It did begin to rain but i enjoyed it. i had my brolley too so that was luckky. In the park there was a movie being shot on location. it must be my lucky few days. They had the trailers set up and everything with the actors names on the doors and a food tent set up. very cool. I then met up with Jessie as she was in London as well and we saw The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnasuss. It was weird but quite good. I also purchased my Marks and Spencers cookies today, ate them and they were GOOD!

So whats next... Thursday i think was more walking around but this time i went to Harrods. I was in there looking around for over 2 and a half hours. In the musical Instrument section one of the employees was playing the piano and i could've listened for hours. I also looked in the DVD section the books the christmas section the clothes section and then eventuially the gift shop which is where i purchased my key ring and coin purse. This day i also went and revisited Tower Bridge, Big Ben, Westminster and i think thats it. I walked back from Big Ben past 10 downing street through Trafalger square to Leicester square where i finally purchased my ticket to Oliver. Half price ticket and the gentlemen at the window said "i have a seat in the second row or the sixteenth row" and i naturally said second please... Later that evening i walked to Covent Gardens and found the Royal Theatre entered and sat down in my row B seats! there was no one in front of me so i kind of had front row seats. The show was absoloutely amazing. i loved every second of it. I so wish i could be in a musical one day.. but first must come singing lessons 😊



friday 13th... I checked out at 10 then headed to Victoria Coach station where i then boarded my bus to Cardiff. Anne had messaged me to tell me that Wales was playing Samoa in Cardiff so the traffic would be a nightmare. And yes my bus ride was an hour longer than it should have been. but i arrived none the less. but because of the traffic and road closures i had to catch a bus to Whitchurch. Luckily for me i have a good memory.. although i did get off one stop too early and then had to walk an extra 500m or so in the rain. but that doesnt matter. i got to Anne aned Richards with no hassles. Sally was there as well to welcome me. it was lovely to see everyone again.
Since my arrival in Wales i have had some lvoely meals and a VERY comfortable bed.. which after 3 months of hostel i am very greatful, or is it grateful?! i never know! anywho.. on Sunday we had a delicious Sunday Roast at lunch time. ah it was devine. I went to Castle Coch today. Which is just small but surrounded by very beautiful woods. And Marc took me to see Harry Brown last night. Very interesting movie but a little bit too life like for my liking.
Everything is winding up nicely. Still find it hard to believe that ill be home at the end of next week. my does 4 months fly!! See you all soon x.

Advertisement



21st November 2009

hello my darling
Can't help being very emotional today! Gordy showed me an email and I cried and now I'm crying after reading your wonderful blogs. Can't wait to see you!!! Lots of love and hugs and kisses. Mum xoxoxox

Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb