The Beauty of Wales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Anglesey
June 5th 2015
Published: June 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Day 7


Wales FlagWales FlagWales Flag

Along the beach near the boat docks
Wednesday morning I woke up at the crack of dawn to take a run down to the end of the pier. The sunrise over the Irish Sea was like no other sunrise I've seen before. There were more seagulls than I could count, the bright blue waves were ever so calm, and the rolling hills of green grass to each side of me were capturing all the essence of nature. There was not a soul in sight for about half an hour until an older gentleman came and asked to sit by me on the bench. This man, Clark, told me that he has come to the end of the pier every morning for the past 38 years. He shared his favorite memories about Llandudno with me until it was time for both of us to start heading back to our respected homes.

Back at the hotel, Nanna and I enjoyed a lovely breakfast before heading out. We walked along the beach from about one end of it to the other, meeting and talking with people along the way. Then, we had a great time at the Mostyn Art Museum which had a fascinating exhibit about the first Post Cards. My favorite piece of art was the Never Ending Ladder. It was so simple, yet so intriguing. Afterwards, we took a half hour bus ride out to the highly recommended Bodnant Gardens. It definitely lived up to and exceeded our expectations! There were acres upon acres of beautiful flowers, trees, and ponds of all different types. There was even a former Lord's embassy in the middle of the garden which had the most beautiful architecture. Later, we enjoyed milkshakes and banana splits at The Looking Glass. This is a cute homemade ice cream shop back in Llandudno which is Alice and Wonderland themed. The place was decorated with playing cards, quotes from the book, and the menu had one side for "eat me" and "drink me". We had a lovely day out in the sunshine and I couldn't me more thankful for a perfect last day!

Friday morning we woke up early before breakfast to finish packing our last minute things. After eating we took a taxi and two trains to get to our ferry in Holyhead, Wales. Nanna and I played the Lee family card game, Hand and Foot, and there is no way to begin to describe
Mostyn Art MuseumMostyn Art MuseumMostyn Art Museum

The Never Ending Ladder
how out of practice I was. She whooped my butt in cards... twice. The taxi ride from the ferry to the hotel was an interesting one as our driver had many stories and advice to give me. All of his thoughts he needed to share included some comment about how he has 8 children. I thought the four kids in my family was a lot! Nevertheless, he was very kind and I decided to take his recommendation and attend a UCD hurling game while here this summer. Later in the evening, I walked over to the University College Dublin (UCD) campus where I'll be living. It is huge!! I met some people from the University of Arkansas who helped me find my apartment building and told me the ropes of the facilities on campus. I have to admit, it was nice to hear familiar accents!

It was a great week in Llandudno and I can't wait to move into my apartment on Saturday and begin work on Monday!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb