Anyone for tennis?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
July 7th 2013
Published: July 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

For the third party of J's birthday week we invited friends round to watch the Men's 2013 Wimbledon Finals at ours. And I am proud to say that history was made in our kitchen! Well, not strictly in our kitchen, but certainly witnessed in our kitchen as Andy Murray won Wimbledon! Hooray!

As I looked about, at our friends round the room, and out in the garden, it struck me that by the time of the next Wimbledon, pretty much every one of them will have moved on, which makes me incredibly sad and emotional. These people - the women (and a couple of others that couldn't be there), the kids, and the mostly absent husbands - have been a huge part of our lives here, most of them since before J was born. We've been through pregnancies together, our husbands deployed together, the kids have grown up alongside each other, and the thought of saying goodbye to each of them, one after the other, till the 'gang's all gone', brings tears to my eyes.

So I particularly wanted to take photos of this party, and now I wish I'd taken more.

Enough of this sentimentality, it was a lovely afternoon, great fun, and there'll be plenty more like it before Daddy and I are left sweeping the tumbleweed from the main gate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.475s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb