Fire Alarm....and Glasgow Cathedral


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
December 10th 2010
Published: December 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Friday 12/10: Sorry it has been a few days since I have written! First let me start with I was really looking forward to the weekend. Long days and nights at work, so I was ready to relax and enjoy the city before flying out to Germany Sunday.

Stayed in Friday night...had a few glasses of wine and then made dinner. Went to bed only to be woken up at 3AM by the fire alarm going on! Takes a few minutes to get your bearings to get dressed and head out the door....except instead of going down the fire escape that I had previously ventured down...I decided to wind around the building the building for a good 5 minutes trying to find my way out. Managed to remember my purse, but left my phone, passport, laptop behind. I asked the question on FB earlier this week and will ask the same here…what would you take if you had to evacuate your home? Obviously if I were really home it would be my animals  So back to bed I went and got to sleep in just enough time to get up.

Saturday 12/11
Woke up, made breakfast and went to do some shopping. It was cold, but clear skies, so it was nice to get out. I found some items I have been looking for and have good ideas on where to go before I head back home next week. Went back to the apt to drop off some things and have lunch, just in time for the fire alarm to go off again! Really..this is getting ridiculous. I was ready to go so just left and started towards the Glasgow Cathedral. It took me while to find it, but when I did it was worth the walk. Took tons of pictures and then walked out to a little market at the museum next door. Bought a cute item made from Scotland and then started to head towards my apt…it was getting really cold and I had not brought my heavy coat. I decided to go into Merchant Square where there were a lot of restaurants, but saw they were doing a little market inside as well. I hit the jackpot of cute hand made stuff….I bought a few things and put in an order to go back this weekend for a few more. Stopped in next door to the apt for a beer and a little people watching at Maggie May's. Then back to the apt. to pack and started getting ready for my trip to Germany. Before going to bed watched a movie, Letters to Juliet, super cute movie and I really want to go to Italy now. Total Chick Flick, but really beautiful story and scenery was beautiful too. Off to bed…tomorrow will be my first international flight, internationally Wish me luck!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



13th December 2010

beer!
I love that they have Coronas in Scotland!
15th December 2010

I was thinking the same thing Em! I love you're drinking a corona in Scotland!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb