A Poetry Anthology From Me to You


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
September 1st 2013
Published: September 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Below are two "poems" I wrote whilst sitting on the plane, attempting to avoid small talk with the woman next to me who was most definitely not my mother. I think they are going to be very influential. Both are quite ground breaking.

A Reflection on Airline Tea

Oh tea,

You are overly milked,

And not uniformly sweet,

You are a lie wrapped in Styrofoam.

You are not nearly caffeinated enough to make your false promises worth the effort it takes to consume you.



How I wish there was more of you.



Despite your hideous nature,

You are the only sustenance I am currently awake enough to intake.

I need a tea at least four times your size.



Sucks to be you because I packed really good tea in my checked baggage.

Sucks to be me because I packed really good tea in my checked baggage.

This relationship is abusive and painful,

You are not good to me.

You fill me with hope of a delicious cuppa full of warmth and gentle waking.

And, if I am being honest, lovely reminders of my nana.

But those are all deceptions and instead I have weak leaf juice with no resemblance to actual tea.



You disappoint me.





- A poem by your devoted blogger. Two blogs in half an hour. Way to go me.





My Sweet Electronic Lover



Beautiful Mac

Why must you leave me so soon?

You are my one solace on a flight filled with bad tea and early wake up calls.



Please don’t leave me here to face this horror alone.

Your light keeps me warm in uncertain times.

I need you to be strong for me.

Please let that little battery symbol be lying.



Do not look at the terrifying reality around us and decide to give up on me.

Live, prosper with me.

Together, we will survive this.

Please.



Please.

The sun is coming up

(notice how I’m awake and it is not. Madness)

and soon it won’t be just you illuminating my life.

So let’s make the most of it while we can.

Keep fighting the exhaustion you are facing.

How will I entertain the masses with terrible poems that don’t rhyme without you?



I love you.

When my mother leaves, you will be all I have left.

I can rejuvenate you soon, I promise.

Just stay until then.

The wait will be worth it.



Stop counting down the percentage of time we have left.

Let’s freeze that counter and just be together for a while.

This madness is making me weep for your comfort.

Darling, we can be so great together.

Just hold on to that possibility.





- Another opus from your darling chronicler.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb