Ahhh bonnie Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
July 31st 2006
Published: July 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Im all over the place!!

The map doesnt look like it makes too much sense but its been a blast!!! 16931.8 km

Hey folks I found a cheap internet cafe so I thought I would just drop a quick update. A quick hello to John in South Carolina, USA. I guess he was checking out this website and randomly subscribed to my blog to check it outl You were saying that you wanted to do a trip like mine someday and trust me when I tell you...DO IT NOW!!! Its seriously the best thing that I have ever done and it has completely changed my outlook on life and everything. I have spoken to so many people that I have met on my travels that have sold cars, retirement savings, houses, you name it to come on a trip like this and not a single one of them has regretted it!

Now that that is out of the way...whats new with me? Well I spent the last 2 nights in the London area with SUPER CLAIRE and her AMAZING family. For those of you that know me well you know that I love a good meal and all along this trip I have been trying to peg down what was my most memorable meal of the trip. Was it the waffles in Bruges? Nope. Was it the cakes in Amsterdam? Nope. Was it the pasta in Rome? Nope. The meal that blows them all out of the water was the BBQ dinner that Pauline, John, Claire, Zoe and Sootie had when I was up there. All along I have been telling myself that the second that I get setup either back in Calgary or wherever I ended up the first thing I was doing was hitting up a butchers, grabbing some really good meat and making a BBQ feast the likes of which the world has never seen and it is almost as if the Tibbles were reading my mind. The second I heard the word BBQ come out of Johns mouth I started drooling uncontrolably, sorry about the couch :-) Even though we were being swarmed by wasps it was still the most memorable meal of the trip BY FAR!!! Thanks Tibbles!!! That night after dinner Claire took me out for a night on the town with a few of her friends and its true what they say, beautiful women do travel in packs ;-) Even though it was a Wednesday night the whole town was out in the mood to party. We did a quick little pub crawl there and ended up running through the rain from the car to Claires door, a good night was had by all!

The next morning I kept myself amused with a little trip to Winchester where I saw the church where Jane Austen was burried, pretty cool if you ask me. After that I did a self guided walking tour (translation aimless wander) around the city and it is a beautiful city with tons to see and do. Being that I only had the one day there it was still pretty cool to walk around and see. Another fantastic dinner at the Tibbles followed by a night watching some Scrubs then it was back to London the next day to see how I was getting up to Edinburgh.

Arrived in London around 10 am and found out that the next bus to Edinburgh wasnt going to be till 11pm that night :-( Sounds like the perfect time to hit up the Tower of London. Missed it the last time that I was in London and even though I had been there years before with family it was really good to see again. Have you ladies ever seen a 500 ct diamond? I have and trust me when I say that it wouldnt fit on your finger! Ended up spending around 3-4 hours just wandering around there and it was actually really interesting. Its totally different doing something like that when you are 10 or when you are 27. From there I tried to meet up with Helene again but we missed eachother. Back to the bus depot to wait for the bus and I got a little bit bored. Have you ever noticed when you are in an airport and you walk past some people you instantly get an opinion of who they are or what they do? You see someone walk by with a guitar and an amp and you wonder what kind of music they play? You see someone walk by in a million dollar buisness suit and you wonder why they arent taking the private jet to work? I was wondering, when I walk by people I wonder what they think about me? Oh he must be in town for a photo shoot was what I came up with cause of my incredible good looks!

Well I couldnt sleep a wink on the bus to Edinburgh so I was basically a zombie until I hopped in the shower and then met up with Amanda. There is something about hanging out with beautiful women that always wakes me up no matter how tired I am :-) We went for a quick walking tour of the botanical gardens where we snuck into a "no access" area to watch some fishies get fed and we think we saw a dead albino frog but the jury is still out on if it was dead or not. Ended up at her cousins house for some pizza and beer and when I beer, I mean BEER!! I have never seen 3 people finish off that ammount of chocolate, pizza, beer and shots before in my life but it made for an amazingly interesting night I will just leave it at that for now!

Next day we went to go see Pirates of the Caribbean 2 and it was AWESOME!!!! MMMM Keira Knightley in a corset. I am a huge fan of the corset, I dont see why they still arent in fashion today. Maybe that will be my goal in life to bring them back to the height of fashion. That sounds like a pretty good life goal eh guys? Well after that some more of a walk and ended the night with a picnic up Arthurs and trying to figure out what that mysterious light was in the distance. I dont care what you say Amanda it was a UFO!!!

Well I had a good nigths sleep that night, the first in a few days so I have the energy of 10 men today, which is good cause we are headed off to go do some indoor rock climbing. I havent been in years and it sounds like my friends over here go all the time so I am going to get schooled in climbing by a couple of wee lassies. Good thing Im comfortable enough in my masculinity to let them be better at me at something :-) Im off to find some breakfast/lunch and maybe even a deep fried mars bar before climbing, that will get the energy level up!

Catch you later folks and I love hearing about whats new with you folks, keep the comments and emails coming! I am getting a few people asking when Im coming home and I will just let you know that this is still a mystery to me. We will all just have to wait and see ;-)

Glyn

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb