Aye lassie


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
July 14th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The bumpThe bumpThe bump

The "mountain" of Edinburgh...isn't it pretty?
Well, It's official...I love Scotland. It is cooler here, nice enough to walk around with just a t-shirt and jeans without feeling like you're melting. There hills all around and a "mountain" just near the dorm I'm staying in. To me, and anyone else from the Appalachians, it looks more like a bump than a mountain...but it is beautiful. Yesterday, we took a 4 hour train ride and arrived in the afternoon. Then we took a literary pub tour, where we had two hilarious guides/actors showing us all the famous pubs in Edinburgh where all the writers hung out...including Robert Luis Stevenson (he is the most famous of the bunch). Then it was dinner in the Cafe Royal, a fun little pub in the new town. This morning we woke early for a good scottish breakfast and then a literary bus tour with one of the guides from the night before. Then it was a shopping trip on the Royal Mile and then an afternoon in the Castle/Palace. I didn't see the queen, but i did see the room where Mary Queen of Scots had her son, and the Stone of Destiny, which was featured in Braveheart, and the Royal Jewels
Castles everywhereCastles everywhereCastles everywhere

A palace at one end of a mile and a castle at another...This was taken in the castle, featured in Braveheart...guys, raise your hands if you are jealous.
of Scotland. It was a nice day. Tomorrow is another early day, then hopefully to Mary King's Close, one of the most haunted areas of Edinburgh. An underground city where the plague victims were housed in the 16th century. Then an afternoon train back to London. It's been a pretty good weekend, and I highly recommend visiting this city to all of you. LOTS of history and fun too. I haven't been feeling well (i've pulled a Monica-meaning i got sick at the WORST possible time) but I still plan on the sightseeing and tourist....being that is involved in study abroad. I don't know what Sunday holds in store (homework OBVIOUSLY) but I hope to keep you all updated. I know that in a past life I must have lived in Scotland because this is one of the best places I've ever been to. Everyone feel free to post responses and read the update I put on my last post- just a quick ps and fun note to all of you. Missing everyone lots!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Beautiful viewsBeautiful views
Beautiful views

The view from the castle onto Edinburgh...who wouldn't love it here?
The Athens of the NorthThe Athens of the North
The Athens of the North

Taken from the smaller hill in the city that I climbed.
Just for my brotherJust for my brother
Just for my brother

The wee whiskey shop- with the Guiness Book of World Records' smallest bottle of whiskey. HEHE


15th July 2006

So how are them darn brits
Well monica, I glad to hear that got to the UK alright. I seems like from your blogs that you are having a blast, which is good because you deserve it. So you are crusin through scotland, where to next on you stop in the UK? I hope you gain alot of great memories and some great stories. Have fun and be safe. Take lots of pictures and live it up.
16th July 2006

Salut!
Hey one last time while we are both still on the same continent! I'm leaving tommorow..- TEAR!! I'll keep reading! ~ Emily
17th July 2006

What a Treat
Monica, just had an opportunity to join you through your bloggs. I'm so happy you are having such a great time. Thank you for sharing and keep up the spirit of the adventure. Teresa

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb