Edinburgh - A wee Scottish City


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
July 6th 2006
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Edinburgh CastleEdinburgh CastleEdinburgh Castle

It's quite a sight in the middle of the city!
Well Edinburgh wasn’t in my original itinerary, but I thought it was a shame to head to the UK and only visit London. Now I’m glad I made the effort to squish in a few days. It’s a really interesting place. Many of the buildings in the Old Town area are constructed from sandstone, but they have discoloured over the years/centuries and, in conjunction with the weather (it was long-sleeve shirt and spray jacket weather for 2 of my 3 days), could easily result in a drab old city - but somehow it’s so much more. I guess the scene-steeling Edinburgh Castle helps a lot in that regard.

It just can’t be ignored - soaring above the city as it does - it’s just such an unusual sight in the centre of a vibrant city. I guess it’s a reasonably small city overall (I think the population is in the order of about 450,000 people), and I think that helps too. It’s quite compact, and as a result most of the attractions are easily accessible.

Anyway……. I certainly enjoyed wandering around, and it didn’t take that long to be able to walk from one place to the next without
Edinburgh Castle IIEdinburgh Castle IIEdinburgh Castle II

I couldn't resist a few shots of the castle
use of the city map. I took in the galleries (including the modern art gallery which was a little distance outside the town centre), the Museum of Scotland (which was quite impressive), AND the Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre (I know, I know…….it may well be a tourist trap, but it was an essential for me).

I also walked up to Arthur’s Seat to see the city from a different perspective. The Queen was in town, and having a garden party at the time, so it was a little busy, as the walk provides a vantage point into the Palace of Holyroodhouse (the Queen’s residence in Scotland).

So on an enjoyment scale from 1 to 10, where 1 equates to Haggis, and 10 equates to Scotch Whisky, I would rate my experience here as an 8.

Paris next!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

View from Calton HillView from Calton Hill
View from Calton Hill

Note the lovely weather
Arthur's SeatArthur's Seat
Arthur's Seat

It's the wee sloped mound in the background
Betty's Garden PartyBetty's Garden Party
Betty's Garden Party

I may not have received an invitation, but did manage a glimpse into the Palace at Holyroodhouse from Arthur's Seat (oh....and of course it rained)
The Bute MazerThe Bute Mazer
The Bute Mazer

A drinking vessel made for an old relo (King Robert The Bruce) in 1314


7th July 2006

I can vouch for the fact that the fresh air from a walk up Arthur's Seat is the best hang over cure after a couple of bottles of good Scottish Whiskey!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb