A New City


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
May 14th 2009
Published: May 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another good day! I managed to find the Scottish Crop Research Institute this morning, and was given a tour by one of their people. I learned about the sort of work they are doing, particularly with barley, potatoes, raspberries, blackberries and black currents. Apparently the latter are high in vitamin C. They are working on food values, environmentally friendly and sustainable crops, and of course crops that are economically viable in this part of the world.

From there I managed to get to the Eurocar location without causing any accidents, though the traffic was heavy closer in, and I had to stop once and phone them. So I no longer have a car. I was able to walk to the bus depot and get a bus to here in Edinburgh an hour later. I did need a cab to get to my hotel, but it is easy walking from here to downtown. I saw the new film Angels and Demons earlier this evening. Then I found a fish shop and bought a big piece of haddock for supper!

The hotel is older but quite comfortable, with wifi. Friday the price goes way up but it will still be less than last night. And from here I can easily walk downtown and to many places of interest. Haven't figured out where the castle is yet! But there's a ghost tour I hope to take in tomorrow night!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb