Iona


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Angus » Dundee
May 13th 2009
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I got lucky today. Iona was uncharacteristically sunny, and though the wind was strong and cool, it was a beautiful day. I had spent the night in my car, and that was a bit cool but OK. Got my ticket as soon as they opened, and then went shopping a bit, almost missing the ferry!

It's a 45 minute ride to Mull, a large island in the Hebrides chain. Then we had a tour bus take us to the ferry port for Iona, and he was great - very knowledgeable and also quite a comedian! The second ferry ride, to Iona, is quite short. We arrived on schedule at 12:30, and its a short walk to the old abbey, passing other parts of the old community including a nunnery and gardens, as well as the cemetery where about 27 kings are buried. I looked around on my own a bit, then took a guided tour of the abbey and surroundings, finishing with the daily 10 minute service focussing on justice and peace at 2 PM. Just had time for a leisurely stroll back to the ferry terminal with stops at two craft rooms and two stores - and the bathroom! The landsape there is very rugged, with rocks protruding everywhere. Much of Mull is similar, but it is so much larger and we saw lots of sheep as well as highland cattle and several red deer.
The drive toward Dundee was beautiful, with water, mountains and trees in abundance. At times the trees on one side of the road completely overhung the highway. From Perth on its a "dual carriageway".

I was a bit tired and thought I might stay in a Travelodge near Perth tonight, but some big event was on and I couldn't find a room, so ended up at Dundee: quite new and with wireless internet. I'll get my phone, camera and computer batteries charged up again - now if only there were laundry facilities!

I am gradually learning scottish english, but have to get lots of things repeated for me! I now ken the difference between a burn and a brae, as well as what a caravan is!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb