Scotland, Scotland, Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
February 7th 2006
Published: February 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The stadiumThe stadiumThe stadium

This holds 60,000 ppl
This past Sunday I attended my very first Six Nations Rugby Match in Edinburough. The exchange advisor from my University, Jim Wilson, met all the interested students at the bus station Sunday morning and got us all organized for the hour bus ride over there. On the drive over there I got to see the "ghetto" of Glasgow, a sheep farm, a high security prison and lots and lots of garbage on the side of the motorway.
As we approached the stadium the number of people on the streets started to multiply. Becuase the game was France vs. Scotland we saw lots of crazy fans wearing France jerseys or kilts. I bought myself a scarf just so I would fit in with the crowd a bit better.... Before the game we all went to the "beer gardens" and got the free whiskey that every fan could have before the game while also watching some live entertainment. Because it was sooo cold the whiskey was the perfect way to warm ourselves up a bit. After we found our seats in the 60,000 person stadium we found out that they were attempting to break a world record that day- the biggest human flag!
Guinness world recordGuinness world recordGuinness world record

Wow thats a big flag
Everyone on the one side of the stadium held up either a white or blue peice of paper, forming the perfect Scottish flag - it was amazing to see!
I dont know many of the rules of rugby so it was confusing at first but i caught on after a while. After the two 40 minute halfs were complete we had won 20-16! It was a surprise to many people becuase I guess the Scottish team has not been performing well lately.

The next morning was my first day at work here where I am answering phone calls at a local courier company. After getting lost for about 30 minutes I found that the office was down a small lane way (alley). Its not a sketchy place to work but I guess office space is limited here so every square meter is used. Understanding Scottish people who need to get their packages sent ASAP is quiet the challenge so far but once I pick up the main street names it will be alright.

I have also included in this blog some pictures of the view from my flat (when there is sun) as well as some pictures of
More pipersMore pipersMore pipers

To start the game off they piped the national anthem
a shopping day that I had recently. Today was actually the first day that it has poured rain so I cant complain too much (yet!)

Thats the updated life of Andrea Blackwell for you all- now its time for me to head to the Students Union and share a few cheap (1 pound) drinks with my fellow classmates! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

More huge flagsMore huge flags
More huge flags

The army brought out these huge flags
StadiumStadium
Stadium

Look at all the police who block fans trying to run onto the field!
The Scrum.. i thinkThe Scrum.. i think
The Scrum.. i think

The Scots are in white
My friendsMy friends
My friends

Ruben and Robert from the Netherlands, Lauren from Ontario and Marlen from France
On the bus ride...On the bus ride...
On the bus ride...

Lauren and me with our cool scarfs!
Shopping on a saturdayShopping on a saturday
Shopping on a saturday

sooo many people!!
Merchant square in GlasgowMerchant square in Glasgow
Merchant square in Glasgow

Its the most beautiful place to shop- in my opinion
Merchant square in Glasgow2Merchant square in Glasgow2
Merchant square in Glasgow2

With my roomies Lauren and Cate
View from my bedroomView from my bedroom
View from my bedroom

On the one sunny day we have had!
The Clyde RiverThe Clyde River
The Clyde River

I took this one when I was lost one day :)


7th February 2006

Seen any hockey games?
Hey Andrea. keep the pics coming - I think a guy I coached is playing hockey somewhere in Scotland - although it may have been Ireland. Looks chilly!
8th February 2006

Hey Girl! Well it sure sounds like you are enjoying yourself. I am so jealous of you and the great adventures you are getting yourself into. Keep drinking that whiskey to stay warm! I really enjoy the pics as then we get to see what you are up to! Miss you here but know that all is well with you in Scotland. Keep enjoying yourself and keep updating us back home. Take care!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb