Imbolc


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
January 8th 2009
Published: January 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mid-January in Edinburgh is a funny thing. The hostel has become a cozy cave of family-oriented activities. Evenings find us playing games, watching movies, me making some money from massages, cooking and just generally hanging out. Even though there's no snow or adverse conditions, people are hibernating. Jeremy and I were talking last night, and we've figured that in Scotland at this time of year it's possible to a) sleep in and still catch the sunrise and b) take a nap and miss the sunset. But the sunshine today was brilliant, clean and clear with no clouds.....I'm still manning up and wearing my flip-flops out there!

As is my winter plumage, I have taken to spending most of my spare time reading. Am getting through some mythology stuff I've been meaning to tackle for years and today got myself a copy of Trainspotting just for balance. I started reading it years ago, and it now makes more sense than ever (because it's based in Edinburgh, not for any other reason, don't worry!).

Life has slowed in a few ways....the bar I'm working at has almost no shifts available and is for sale, to boot. On Monday, actually. None of us know what's to happen, if the new owner will keep the franchise/staff or re-vamp the whole thing and leave us jobless bunnies by Easter. We shall see. I am definetly seeing the effects of the recession now that Christmas is over. Nobody is spending money on anything, and this week is when most UK residents book their summer vacations, so the bar has been empty empty empty.

I've got a lot of things on my mind, am debating getting out of Edinburgh for a bit. I'm kind of scared at how quickly and comfortably I've settled in here, and I miss the countryside. I don't want to be one of those people who lives in such a beautiful country with everything so accessible and never takes advantage of it.





Advertisement



11th January 2009

winter blues
Well... your not alone feeling the effects of winter.. we're completely snowed in! Its saturday night and i'm watching a little playoff football but keeping warm none the less. I hope your well, and I miss you. Will talk soon :) Mark
22nd January 2009

Do you guys have yahtzee??
Yahtzee is my favourite family game memories...if you haven't tried it, give it a go. That's too bad about your bar but maybe it's just the pesky universe telling you to move on. I wouldn't worry too much about being someone who "lives somewhere and doesn't take advantage"...this blog is proof of just the opposite. Damn economy is hitting you out there too huh? Brutal. Hang in there, I'm sure something will head your way.

Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb