Hogmanay


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
December 31st 2008
Published: December 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Touted as Europe's largest New Years Celebration, Hogmanay 2008-2009 is expected to draw over 100,000 people tonight to the street party alone! The city is literally thrumming with tourists, and after almost 5 months here I am revelling in not being one of them! Indeed, it seems I must look like a local for I am being asked for directions almost constantly.

I have the luxury of staying in a friend's flat until after all the ruckus dies down...I would not want to be on the mile or anywhere near the tourist centre of Edinburgh atm. Too. Many. People. I can only imagine what it will be like in August during the Festival. My plans for the day are fairly unsure, but they solidify around 9 pm when one of my fave bands will be playing on Princes St., and I have a slew of international pals who are in town to see 2009 in with.

Seeing as its my first Hogmanay here, I don't really know or can't really anticipate just how nuts it's going to be....at midnight fireworks are let off from the castle, all the bells from every church ring, and us thousands will be sining Auld Lang Syne. Cool. It's the next 10 minutes that worry me already: mass exodus and potential trampling will ensue! Thankfully, I will be with my pal Jeremy who is roughly the size of an enraged bull in his quietest moments. If any trampling's to be done, it will be by him. Hahahaha.

So, send up a wee thought at 7:10 pm Canadian time for my little frozen feet and quickly-decreasing patience as I try to make my way out of Europe's largest New Years Celebration.....

I will be thinking of you at 5 am my time, I'm sure--which is probably how long it'll take me to get out of the crowds!

Happy New Year.

Advertisement



1st January 2009

well..?
so, did you make it out alive? glad to hear jeremy was there to take the crossfire. talk soon!

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb