Christmas in England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent
December 24th 2008
Published: December 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

*looks at clock* I believe that 2 pm isn't too early for my first Christmas Eve gin and tonic. Mwa haha.

Was well and truly ill again at the end of my insane black week (Black Friday/Saturday/Sunday/Monday/Tuesday, etc...) for the 4th time since August. Not as bad this time, however, my ears didn't get involved which was a relief. Am well on the way to being on the mend, mostly due to being ensconced in my aunt's place and having had SLEPT for more than 4 hours straight!

We have spent the past 48 hours getting ready for tomorrow; mad mad MAD shopping yesterday *NOT advised to shop on the 23rd, ever*, mad mad MAD wrapping, decorating, tree hunting which took 2 sessions, cake icing, menu planning, cleaning, etc. etc. I have tried to help as much as possible, but I've learned that sometimes I help more if I just ask for a job and dispatch myself to do it as opposed to getting in the way 😊


I miss Scotland. Flying away from it and down over the much flatter England hits me every time. I miss Edinburgh. I miss the Ivory Lounge and my wicked staff who have become very close friends very quickly. I miss my family, although I'm sure that won't really hit until tomorrow. I read in the news today that every province has snow for the first time since 1971! Snow is a bit of a novelty here, and I am honestly in a skirt and flip-flops today, it being 10 degrees!

It's nice being here in this house. It's a huge old Oast house painted in citrus tones with people always coming and going, music always on and no idea what's to happen next. Christmas Eve is suiting up to be an epic experience of feasting and drinking, and I can't wait!

Advertisement



24th December 2008

Yeah for Christmas!!
I'm finally getting excited...been working lots. It sounds like you're gearing up for one kickass euro-Christmas and I couldn't be happier for you. Enjoy that Gin and have another for all us back home missing you. Merry, Merry Christmas Wifey!!!
24th December 2008

Merry Christmas
Merry Christmas Sarah!! I just finished work and am driving up to the Red Deer area to spend Christmas with friends. I'm told that there's plenty of food and drink, so looking forward to it. It's been stinking cold for the past two weeks. It warmed up to -15C today, which is the first time that it's been above -20C in over 10 days. Lots of snow, so it's quite pretty. They're forecasting cold weather for another week. Ugh. Cheers, Sheilah
29th November 2009

christmas cards saying from england
Yes I am looking for a Christmas card that says, Wshing you a Merry Christmas from England. I found one last year to send my son and daughter in America but for the life of me can't remember where I purchased it. Mant thanks, Barb

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb