time for some holidayin'


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
December 8th 2008
Published: December 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

good day friends and family!

we are safe in edinburgh, sleeping on my sister's floor-chris and i attempting to share a single bed matress. our backs and necks hurt, but it is free and i can hug and kiss my sistah every moment of the day! i could not be happier! yesterday was our first full day here in the land of scot, and chris and I began a serious holidaying sleeping regiment. since we are going to be travelling in the scottish land and ireland for nearly 2 weeks, we are taking a couple days to sleep, be lazy, eat food, watch a movie, and go to chris' and my favourite new place "pie maker". my sistah has introduced a beautiful shop where all things are single pies. i had an apple and blackcurrant. mmm great joy. i know my father's soul will rejoice when he visits here in june, for he lives for the flaky and fruity treat.
so yesterday, as I said we slept in, lounged and then went to the cinema. beth and I saw Changeling-exhausting movie, and chris went to Transporter 3-yuck. we got some chips on the way home, and chris got a cheese filled deepfried burger- I cannot accurately convey the level of disgusting-ness this was. let's just say christopher regretted his barf-me choice. and that was our day. wonderfully uneventive and gloriously relaxing.
ooh but I must mention our train here from london, first-class baby! and I'm talking free tea (by the pot, no one cup nonesense), in seat service and tons of leg room! though I think it may have been a little obvious that we did not belong with the rich folk- for I pulled out my bag-o-buns and jar of peanut butter and used the tea stirring spoon as my peanut butter knife. we are big time classy. even more so when I kept fishing for what I could get for free from the food cart lady. chris did not enjoy that so much.
what we have seen of edinburgh it is old and beautiful. there will be lots to do here. eventually we are going to drive to loch ness and the highlands, and then visit ireland and maybe do some driving exploration there. I am reallly excited for the highlands and ireland.
we fly home on the 19th, so time is a tickin'. we'll definately post more picture in a few days since we have my sister's computer to use.

love your comments!
oh and a shout out to the Lauren, from the Duke, of the Bay

love love love, oh and a scottish cheers
chris, meg and beth

Advertisement



8th December 2008

you're in my homeland
HI Guys. My grandfather emigrated from Edinburgh and it is the one place I"ll see in my life. He never lsot his scottish accent and I was always the "wee baron". I'll be interested to get site seeing info from you at New Years. You should be knee deep in scottish short bread, empire cookies and apple charlottes at this time of the year. He was a baker so I'm up scottish Christmas treats and so is my current pant size. Enjoy and we'll be seeing you soon. Roberta
8th December 2008

Get a bed somewhere!!
OK, I do believe in "free"...but when it means you can't sleep properly, then you can't adventure properly...so if one of you has to rent a bed elsewhere, do so!! Not worth spending these last 2 weeks of your holiday tired and sore...of course, this is the old decrepit mother speaking. Glad to know we are connected again. Love ya!! MOM

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb